1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support google navigation help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmckiernan, Nov 13, 2014.

1. jmckiernan

jmckiernan Lurker
    None

Nov 13, 2014
    I'm having a problem with the GPS keeping up with me. Every time I exit a freeway or change roads the GPS continues to think I'm on the freeway for a few seconds and reroutes me and then has to reroute me a second time once it catches up and realizes where I actually am. Also sometimes the arrow is pointing in a weird direction as if I'm going down the road sideways. I have the latest version of Android and my GS5 is up to date. I already called T Mobile about the issue and did some basic troubleshooting and nothing has seemed to help so far any ideas would be appreciated thanks. I really need my GPS to work well.. I use it for a living because I'm a driver

Advertisement

2. AZgl1500

AZgl1500 Android Expert
    None

Feb 3, 2011
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Hey, my relatively expensive Garmin GPS does the same thing.

it is a problem with the inherrent inaccuracies of the GPS calculations and is not really a fault of the S5's GPS, nor the app you are using.

Take a look at this app, GPS STATUS. * GPS Status & Toolbox - Android Apps on Google Play
    This is my "Go To App" for GPS issues, it puts it all in one place for you.

Today, it is common for us to get location fix accurate down to around 11 meters, or 33 feet.

10 years ago, when we only had 5 satellites up there, location fixes that were within a half mile were considered pretty good.

GPS Status has at times, shown me with a fix down to 9 meters.

It depends on How many SATs are in view at the time of the fix. At times, I can get 11 satellites which gives me altitude accurate to with a few feet and even shows me setting at my office desk when I am home.