1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Google Navigation stuck at Searching for GPS...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tymchn, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. tymchn

    tymchn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Sheffield
    I understand Motorola Droid/Milestone users have had a similar problem, but has anyone experienced this on the Samsung i5700?

    I picked it up on 3 UK PAYG just recently with the i570EXXJC1 baseband and 2.1-update1 firmware preinstalled. There is very little branding from 3 so I'm not sure if that's the problem. I have tried the usual hard reset to wipe all installed apps off, and combination's of resets with and without removing the battery to no avail. I have tried with the original version of maps and updating from the Market.

    It does not appear to be a hardware problem as maps and GPS Status happily get a lock (as many as 10 satellites at a time). For some reason it is only the navigation function that struggles. Although ironically it does update the screen with my position and the marked route turns from red to blue... all while searching for GPS :p The only indicator missing is on the top status bar, the arrow icon remains gray.

    Is it worth using Odin and reflashing the firmware that way? Or should I hang on for Google to update the beta some more?

    Thanks in advance for any help or advice!
     

    Advertisement

  2. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    I flashed my T-Mobile i5700 with JC1 & have the same issue!
     
  3. mauricegb

    mauricegb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Yeah I have the same issue, using 3 with Android 2.1

    I'd be interested to hear if you find a solution :)
     
  4. tymchn

    tymchn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Sheffield
  5. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    me too!
     
  6. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
  7. tymchn

    tymchn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Sheffield
    Well at least it looks as though we have a legitimate issue. Hopefully with time more people can chime in and we can work this out. Curious about the performance of Google Navigation on the i5700 across the various firmwares though.
     
  8. aneslin85

    aneslin85 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Web Designer
    London, UK
    Got the same problem,
    Got excellent HSPA / 3G coverage, when I drive on the road, my phone shows that am running out of the road, lol
    funny

    how to fix this ?
     
  9. tymchn

    tymchn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Sheffield
    Currently testing Google Maps 4.2 but still no joy.

    This is with firmware JD4 and SamdroidMod 1.0.3

    If anyone else, having this problem, could give the new Maps a try I would really appreciate it.

    Cheers
     
  10. iabbott75

    iabbott75 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I also have a new i5700 on 3, with the same problem. Tried updating to google maps 4.2, but the problem still exists.
    Also, I don't get any spoken voice instructions whilst navigating, but I assume this is related to the "searching for GPS" problem.
    Hopefully we'll see a fix soon.
     
  11. iabbott75

    iabbott75 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Just to say that Google maps 4.3 fixes this issue.
     
  12. karfeef

    karfeef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    application developer
    liverpool, blighty
    hurrah! just downloaded 4.3 and all is good. tasty!
     

Share This Page

Loading...