1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google News & Weather Widget Problems?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by fiskadoro, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. fiskadoro

    fiskadoro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    161
    21
    58
    Chicago, IL
    Was wondering if anyone has noticed a problem with the Google News & Weather widget today? I installed this on my EVO (GenieWidget.apk) because I love its simplicity and elegance, but today it's telling me "Sorry, unable to connect. Please try later" with a "Retry now" button.

    Just wanted to know if it's only my phone or everyone's? I tried rebooting, also tried stopping and uninstalling/reinstalling but to no avail. If it's happened to other people before and there's a trick to fixing it, that would be great to know too.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    91
    15
    18
    Same problem here.
     
  3. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    Same for me also :(
     
  4. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
    Same for me. I deleted the cache and the data, and still nothing.
     
  5. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    250
    13
    58
    Managment
    Boise, ID
    Same here I even downloaded an updated version.
     
  6. Lefort1

    Lefort1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    266
    26
    43
    Works perfectly fine on my Incredible
     
  7. afoualer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    106
    18
    38
    Me tooo, :p
     
  8. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    I'm jealous, still not working on my Incredible, 4:45am :(

    I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling it, no dice.
     
  9. mode

    mode Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    44
    0
    15
    Not working for me either...
     
  10. fiskadoro

    fiskadoro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    161
    21
    58
    Chicago, IL
    Weird! Still not working for me, yet some people can see it normally? I'll give it another day and see if it returns. By the way, people with Incredibles, did it stop working and restart early this morning, or has it simply been working the entire time?

    I don't even have any idea who to contact about this... I presume it's a Google developer widget?
     
  11. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    I have an Incredible and as far as I know mine hasn't worked at all today.
     
  12. vicv9smith

    vicv9smith Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    The weather app is working fine for me, if I was still where I was yesterday. It has not and won't update location - even though maps knows our present location. What the...?
     
  13. ferretmom

    ferretmom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    It has worked fine on my husband's Devour for 3 weeks and still does, but I get the 'cant connect' on my Droid which was new yesterday.
     
  14. sorceror

    sorceror Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    56
    7
    16
    Noticed this yesterday afternoon on my Droid. Same deal, the news articles and weather don't update. Tried stopping and restarting the "Genie" service that gathers the data, but no dice.
     
  15. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
  16. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
  17. DavidC

    DavidC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    28
    0
    15
    i noticed yesterday that it stopped updating. and still isn't working today.
    maybe something is down on google's side?
     
  18. Crush_Buds

    Crush_Buds Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    62
    0
    35
    mine is not working either
     
  19. Inger

    Inger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    13
    4
    16
    I'm on my Nexus one and its not working at all for me either. All news is stuck on June 15th, weather is also stuck on that date as well.
     
  20. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
  21. global2

    global2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    107
    7
    46
    Retired educator
    Full-time traveler
    News and Weather and Places not working on my Droid - both stuck on June 15. Where can you find this widget to reload?
     
  22. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    For anyone that didn't read the thread jfe linked to, on page 5 of that thread someone posted this.

    Alright, it's not a Froyo or Google issue. Palmary, the provider of the back end that the widget uses is under a DDoS attack.

    Recent News

    Note the most recent entry. Looks like those affected will just have to wait it out sadly.
     
  23. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    6:10am and my News and weather genie as well as googleplaces is working again. I'm happy now.

    I did have to update google places on the market to get it working, but all is right in the world again :D
     
  24. fiskadoro

    fiskadoro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    161
    21
    58
    Chicago, IL
    Mine is working again too. Happy bunny. Do you think the Google Places update (which I did this morning too) made a difference?
     
  25. Anubis

    Anubis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    It didn't mention what the update actually did so i really don't know. It does seems to run even faster now but i'm probably just getting a better 3G signal today or something.
     

Share This Page

Loading...