1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Google now for this phone please

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by john525, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. john525

    john525 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    is there any way of getting this on are phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. androidkrazy

    androidkrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    69
    25
    23
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Correct. As of right now most ics devices can run it

    If you have an ics rom available to your device give it a try
     
  4. Drogyn

    Drogyn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    262
    26
    43
  5. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york
    Yes it said non jelly bean devices, it means they have to be running ICS and up for it to work. It will not work with GB. Nothing that was created for ICS or jelly bean has ever been Ported to Gingerbread its easier to get a ICS device.
     
    CellBlock420 likes this.
  6. Drogyn

    Drogyn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    262
    26
    43
    ahhh ok, my bad
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If you have ics roms available for your device you can just flash that


    I don't have your device so I'm unsure of what's available
     
  8. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york
    Lol trust me we won't be seeing ICS for atleast another year or never. we lost 3 devs to this evil phone in less than 6 months #HardestPhoneToMod
     
    CellBlock420 likes this.
  9. CellBlock420

    CellBlock420 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    130
    17
    58
    Male
    Chev, I think you may be mistaken about this one. I read through a couple of the links and they all say some non JB devices. They then proceed to provide links to see exactly what devices would be supported, one requirement being the ARMv7. Lo and behold, our phone is on the list of phones that may be supported since the tu has the ARMv7.
    Now having said that, is there some other pre-requisite involved that disqualifies us?
    If it happens to be me that is mistaken, then my apologies in advance. I'm gonna check into it some more by tomorrow and then I might give it a try.

    So in summary it seems that the only prerequisite is to have ARMv7.
    If there are any other prerequisites, please let us know.
     
  10. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york

    All you guys are missing the main part of the port, this is the thread title of the port.
    [MOD] [4.0+] [UPDATE 08/08] The Google Now for ICS Project [APK AND ZIP] [ARMv6&v7]

    Notice the red parts of the thread title? 4.0 and up buddy we're still on 2.3.6 its not compatible whatsoever with any version less that ICS "4.0" if you want google now buy boost mobiles latest phone the "hydro" for 130 with ICS and a 3.5 inch screen or get the Evo for 300 with ICS and a 4 inch screen that we have.
     
    CellBlock420 likes this.
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The evo V has a pretty solid development section that's piggybacjing off of the evo 3d roms.

    Might be worth checking out
     
  12. CellBlock420

    CellBlock420 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    130
    17
    58
    Male
    OK, thanks for clearing that up for me, I see what you mean. If I get this computer I'm looking at and am think about teaching my self code for the android. Basically I need to learn Linux right?
     
  13. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york
    Not exactly but there is much to learn.
     
    CellBlock420 likes this.
  14. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    chev speaking of developing etc can i pick ur brain on it ive been trying it out attempted to deodex mod apks googling crazy etc but i still not being able to finish
     
  15. CellBlock420

    CellBlock420 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    130
    17
    58
    Male
    So where do I start? That way when I do get my setup, I can be prepared. Gotta be beginner stuff to read on, terminology and the like.
    That's what Im looking for.
     
  16. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york


    You'll both need to get use to Linux first if you guys wanna develop stuff like compiling kernels download sources etc. If you have a windows computer you can easily install Linux by going to their site. Since you guys a need a Linux system to work with. Msg when you install the OS on your PC.
    If your only looking to decompile apps and mod them in a way you'll obviously need adb apktool/apkmanager "Your choice" "they decompile and compile apks" android kitchen " very use full tool to do multiple things but Linux is needed for that.
    Before you guys start going crazy and become confused I would suggest looking up a simple mod that you can do by decompiling and editing a apk. For example the CRT effect is real easy. As well as changing the carrier name. Google those tuts and perform them it doesn't matter if your on Linux windows or Mac, if you have the right tools they will decompile and compile apks.
     
  17. androidkrazy

    androidkrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    69
    25
    23
    Well I already took the guesswork out of the equation I downloaded and flashed the zip from the thread it didn't break anything but it did absolutely nothing so there's your verifiable proof :D
     
    john525 likes this.
  18. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    my problem is ive already have all that im currently trying to change font on framework res apk but i get error on compiling using apk multi tool
     
  19. androidkrazy

    androidkrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    69
    25
    23
    I believe if i recall correctly modding both framework res and system ui require dependencies, this can be done through the tool your using most likely it will require a copy of the other I believe it needs a copy of system ui to mod framework res. That's almost always the reason for errors in my experience unless you just borked something :D
     
  20. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    im following a thread on here i have android sdk apk multi tools ive got files pullded i decompiled changed xmls but when i compile i get error ive pushed files before i just dont get why i cant compile one step away grrr
     
  21. gkak

    gkak Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    244
    66
    53
    not that i know what im doing yet... but im finding that starting off with themeing will give u a good basic understanding of what makes these annoyingly addictive toys tick.

    check out
    [GUIDE] Creating Transparent Statusbars for CM7 based and most other ROM - xda-developers

    itll get u started with decompiling, xml editing etc. by ripping apart roms , themes, apks, systemuis, frameworks ive found online ive been learning alot. just beginer stuff but ive changed some of the icons and the swipe circle lock of the stock 2.3.6 lockscreen with ninjamorph and ive used themezipper to piggyback some xmls i edited to change to color of the system font. also changed statusbar, notification icons etc
    ive come pretty close to messing up my phone a few times but theming is a relatively safe place to start learning. good luck and may you be the one to port the elusive cm7
     
  22. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The CyanogenMod team suggest you start out with making an app so that you learn how the os works.

    But yes your definitely going to want to learn Linux, and have your computer be able to dual boot into either if you want to get into any sort of dev work
     
  23. androidkrazy

    androidkrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    69
    25
    23
    @dmcjr22 I always used apk manager you may want to give that a try, I'm sure your tool is similar when modding any xml before you recompile it will likely give you the chance to delete a couple files in your case you would delete the originial xml you modded if its there and usually you must delete resources.arsc as well before recompiling, I'll see if I can find the original guide I learned from as it was quite straight forward.
     
  24. androidkrazy

    androidkrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    69
    25
    23
  25. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny

    thanks bro ive tried apk manager out tried em all...but let me ask u this seeing how im trying to change font(framework res apk) do i have to get rid of
    resources.arsc i ask cuz i see that different options in apk multi tool for system apk and third party apks...the thread im reading doesnt say so in his steps..and plus you no about hard root i ask cuz with android commander u need hard root to push files and the instructions they say to hard root arent the best pm if u want and thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...