1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Google & phone contacts appear twice in a text message

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by origdav, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. origdav

    origdav Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    Hi,

    I wanted to sync my phone contacts with my Gmail account and found this thread.
    This has worked perfectly and within the People app -> Menu -> View, I can see the same number next to Google as I can Phone. At present only Google is ticked.

    My problem is when I enter a name within a new text message the contact appears twice, once from the Phone entry and once from the Google entry even though only Google is ticked within the People app.

    Does anyone know how to change it so only the Google contacts show up when you enter their names in a new text message?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You can delete all your "phone" contacts. These are not the same ones that are sync'd with google. The google contacts are also on your phone.

    If you don't delete them, they'll always show.
     
  3. origdav

    origdav Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    Perfect. Followed your advice here and it's done the trick. I've even cleaned up some of the meta data by exporting to a CSV from Google then reimporting it back.

    One final thing - anyone know how to change the format from xxx-xxx-xxxxx to no hyphens?
     
  4. mcchriswood

    mcchriswood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    151
    1
    36
    id like to know this also
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    If you edit it in gmail, to remove hyphens, does it then sync to your phone to be normal?

    If so, could you export all your gmail contacts on your pc, edit them then upload them back to gmail?
     
  6. origdav

    origdav Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    I quickly tried that the other day but had problems with the csv file recognising the leading zero and not removing it. I'll have another look today. Thanks
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    Highlight all the cells then Format>Cells> [Number] tab - Set to "text"

    You will have to go back and add all the leading 0's but it will keep them there. Or just put +44 on the front of them all (assuming you're in the UK)
     
  8. origdav

    origdav Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    Just to confirm this does work - thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...