1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Google Play app won't open

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jacobsdad, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. Jacobsdad

    Jacobsdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Physical Therapist
    Teaneck, NJ
    I got through four pages of looking for this topic thread under support and didn't find anything, so here I am. I've been having issues with the Google Play app.. It won't open. It appears to load then it quickly disappears. I've been on both WIFI and the network as this happens. I've gone to the app and forced stopped it, cleared data and cache, restarted phone, pulled battery and shut down- all to no avail. This is very annoying. Is there something I'm missing. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.
    Carrier: Verizon
    Phone: Samsung GS3
    Android Version: 4.1.1
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Man, i was gona tell u to clear cache n data but youve been there.
    Next thing id do is uninstall updates if the option is there :thumbup:
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Try clearing the data and cache for " Google Services Framework" also :)
     
  4. Jacobsdad

    Jacobsdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Physical Therapist
    Teaneck, NJ
    Thanks Funky and Mike- clearing the framework didn't help.
    This is what it tells me following restart: Unfortunately, the process com.google.process.gapps has stopped.
    Any clues?
    I'm now running 4.1.2
     
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Are you rooted? Were you rooted?
     
  6. Jacobsdad

    Jacobsdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Physical Therapist
    Teaneck, NJ
    Never.
    I'm currently backing everything onto Backup Assistant Plus and thinking of doing a reset unless I can find a solution.
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    I think it would be in your best interest to backup like you are doing, then factory reset. Especially after an update :)
     
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Ive had that error before but it was on my 1st android when i deleted a system app.
    Yeah id try a factory reset then if that doesnt work, youre probs gona have to flash the official firmware again. Its fairly simple n safe.
    Have u tried uninstalling playstore updates in app manager?.. if u do, it will update itself in a while so itl be the same as reinstalling the playstore app
     
  9. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    Also might try just wiping the cache partition before the Factory reset and see if it may help.
    1. Turn off the device.
    2. Press and hold the Volume Up key, Home key, and Power key at the same time.
    3. When the phone vibrates, let go of the buttons.
    4. When the Android System Recovery screen appears, let go of the Volume Up and Home keys.
    5. Press the Volume Down key to move to and highlight wipe cache partition.
    6. Press the Power key to select and wipe the cache partition.
    7. After the wipe is finished, go back up till reboot system now is highlighted and press the Power key to restart the phone.
     
    Jacobsdad likes this.
  10. thepervster

    thepervster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    40
    8
    16
    Your downloads are probably disabled ...go into your settings then application manager scroll over to all. go all the way to bottom you should see downloads click enable. thats what i did works good now.
     
    Jacobsdad likes this.
  11. Jacobsdad

    Jacobsdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Physical Therapist
    Teaneck, NJ
  12. sirchewed

    sirchewed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013

    Feb 14, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you so much! I've been trawling forums and was just about to resign myself to the fact I'd have to factory reset and wipe everything. This worked perfectly!
     
  13. no1noes

    no1noes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013

    Apr 14, 2013
    1
    0
    5

    @thepervster

    You are freakin' awesome!! I had a problem with opening my Google Play Store on my Samsung Tab 2 and couldn't find a solution online untill I came across yours. Thanks for your posting.
     
  14. dan88cowboys

    dan88cowboys Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013

    Apr 18, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Dude u r a legend. Thank u so much for your help. So simple.
     
  15. drake25

    drake25 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013

    Jun 3, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi Guys, i am in a place that Youtube is not available... can anyone explain the simple instructions of what is done on the video to fix this issue? i am confused, tried everything and still having the problem....

    appreciate any feedback
     
  16. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Are you in a country where youtube isnt avilable or is it just on this phone it isnt working?
     
  17. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Welcome drake25!

    On the video, he said to go into menu/settings/application manager/all.
    Scroll to the very bottom and look for download manager.
    Make sure it is enabled.

    Let us know if that works! :D
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  18. ThetravelingV

    ThetravelingV Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013

    Aug 4, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    I was having the exact same problem as Jacobsdad described above and was about to resort to a full reset but the link to the short youtube video solved my problem.

    Thank you for sharing your solution!
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Welcome to the community :beer::beer: did you find this place through googling the problem?
     
  20. shansenwy

    shansenwy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I had the same problem and fixed it on my Samsung Galaxy.
    Go to Application Manager in Settings...slide over until you are in the "All" section.
    Once there, scroll all the way down until you see all of the applications that have the word "disabled" to the right.
    I enabled them all. My phone went crazy updating everything and now it works fine.
    I'm not sure which one made it work, I'll have to mess with it later because I don't like everything enabled, but at least it got the play store working!
    Good luck:)
     
  21. shansenwy

    shansenwy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I had the same problem and fixed it on my Samsung Galaxy.
    Go to Application Manager in Settings...slide over until you are in the "All" section.
    Once there, scroll all the way down until you see all of the applications that have the word "disabled" to the right.
    I enabled them all. My phone went crazy updating everything and now it works fine.
    I'm not sure which one made it work, I'll have to mess with it later because I don't like everything enabled, but at least it got the play store working!
    Good luck:)
     
  22. Ahamed Suhail

    Ahamed Suhail Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017

    Jan 9, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    I uninstalled a system app and then this happened.. Can u gimme a detailed fix on this plz?
     

Share This Page

Loading...