1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google says T-Mo to blame for 3G issues?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smitty24, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. smitty24

    smitty24 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009

    Mar 5, 2009
    252
    3
    36
    Florida
  2. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    No, Google blames T-Mobile for some users' issues. People who are in poor reception areas are not going to benefit from a software fix. Those that can hold two T-Mo phones next to each other, one with 3G and one without will benefit. And thank goodness; hopefully that'll put the lid on that awful problem and we can move onto the next ;)
     
  3. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    288
    13
    38
    Eating Babies (not related to my hobby)
    Colorado
    Oh man i can't wait. That'll basically complete my N1 is the 3g fix. :D
    It'll be over the air right?
     
  4. Inhuman

    Inhuman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    I hope the coming update fixes the 3g issues, AND also the other issues that the nexus one has. Hope google doesnt forget about those.

    Also about the 3g blaming. How can it be tmobile fault when the g1(an htc phone) gets better 3g than the nexus1?
     
  5. androidtx

    androidtx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009

    Jun 13, 2009
    76
    1
    16
    my G1 could never hold a 3g signal in my home, my N1 does. I never have a problem with 3g outdoors, only indoors. The problem is the 3g frequency that tmobile uses by its very nature does not penetrate indoor locations well. Based on the technology used, I would hold tmobile accountable for most of it.
     
  6. spartan141

    spartan141 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    452
    61
    73
    ^what he said;)
     
  7. Inhuman

    Inhuman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    guess that makes sense :)
     
  8. Fastmhz

    Fastmhz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    50
    2
    16
    Blame it on the al-al-al-al-alcohol.
     
  9. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    176
    1
    36
    Do you have any idea what you are talking about? If T-Mobile is accountable then why does my 3g work great indoors and out (even in elevators) as long as I have wcdma only selected? As soon as I go back to wcdma preferred it goes off. And a mytouch and clique still have 3g. Explain this please? Is it somehow T-Mobile's fault that other phones work and my nexus doesn't. If you really are not having a problem that most of us are having then please do not offer your unfounded oppinion on the situation.
     
  10. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    Let's hope the fix is for radio boosting full stop, for those of us who live in 3 bar GPRS areas and pick our phone up only to see the signal disappear completely.
     
  11. Stonez

    Stonez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Field Tech for T-mo.
    Sacramento
    If you read the post it doesn't say that T-mobile is responsible for the problems. It does say that some people may have issues with the lack of 3G in some areas where they are on the edge of the 3G footprint. T-mobile is still building out the 3G in many areas.

    Other than those areas, there is absolutely no way that this is a network issue caused by T-mobile. I have tested side by side an N1, G1, Samsung T39 and a Cliq and ONLY the N1 had issues. The post by Google is being misunderstood by some.
    Lets hope the update provides resolution to this issue so we can move on.
     
  12. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    Has there been a fix to this? I had great 3G reception on my MyTouch but my N1 has poor reception of 3G.
     
  13. crabman

    crabman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    197
    28
    43
    I dont think al-al-al-al-alcohol should have to carry the whole burden. I smoked a lot of pot in the 70s.
     
  14. sluma

    sluma Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I personally do not think that it's a hardware issue, it really seems like a provider issue. I have the "Rogers/AT&T" version of the nexus one and I've never had any 3G issues. I get consistent 3G as well as HSPA+ at times. Again this is just my experience
     
  15. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    288
    13
    38
    Eating Babies (not related to my hobby)
    Colorado
    I get better signal and data on my nexus than other t-mobile phones. However I do strongly believe it is partly T-Mobile's fault.

    PS: Who bumped this >.<
     
  16. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    I had a MyTouch running on T-Mobile, the 3G reception was very good here in the Twin Cities. I now have a Nexus One and the 3G reception, even in the same areas, is weak or sometimes non-existent. It too is running on T-Mobile's network. My wife has a Samsung Behold 2, there are spots, especially in our house, where she has a perfect 3G signal and the Nexus is on Edge when the phones are sitting side by side.
     
  17. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    I guess that would've been me...
     
  18. TimeOut

    TimeOut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I'm on AT&T also and I've not had my phone drop back to Edge at all. I had a Samsung Jack and it would regularly flip between 3g and Edge.

    Sean
     
  19. cb00

    cb00 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Definitely hoping to get a boost on reception
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...