• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Google Sky Maps About 90 Degrees Off, other Astronomy Apps Work Fine

TonyMan13

Feb 13, 2013
I have been using this for almost 2 years with no issues until recently. I had my phone replaced with a refurbished unit, they both are Droid RAZR MAXX. On the new phone, the app is way off. For instance, if I go to North on the horizon, it shows Polaris there. At 10 PM I saw Arcturus in the west sky, but not on the app. I searched and it showed it to be between my feet looking downward. I searched for Mizur and it says it isn't in the database. Never had these problems before.

I have verified the time & location. Have also done the figure eight thing many times. Power cycled the phone too. Also deleted and re-installed. Nothing makes a difference. However, Stellarium and Sky Eye work fine as well as any apps with terrestrial mapping and compass apps. This convinces me the GPS and compass are functioning fine.

Anyone else been through this and have an idea?

Thanks

Try SkEye. Google abandoned or did something with Sky Map a couple of years ago Abandoned by Google, App Inventor for Android is now open source - Liliputing and this picked it up.
Looks just like Sky Map did.

I don't enable any location except GPS. The other apps, Sky Safari and Mobile Observatory have no problem with this. SyEye usually doesn't. Astronomers go to dark sites where there is NO connection of any kind except pure GPS.

Upvote 0
As for some GPS it doesn't make a tinker's dam whether or not you have all location enabled. I have 2 weather apps - one paid, that simply can't find my location by coordinates regardless of what is or isn't enabled. Both are in the same subdivision, but subdivision has a 200 foot difference between high and low point. It make a difference in extremely hilly areas for fog, snow and frosts. I've had it snow across the street (house 20 ft higher) and rain on my side.