• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Google Translate - Text to speech Extended

Jerry786

Jul 28, 2010
Hi all, Installed Google translate and it prompted me to install TTS (Text to speech extended) Clicked on it and takes me to market place...However, It says app not found :thinking:

Searched for the add on, on Appbrain...and again, tried to install it on phone but again it says not found :thinking: :)

Any ideas?

Thanks

I am new to Android and am having the same problem with Google Translate. The application installed fine but when I start it asks to install Text-To-Speech Extended, I press the install button and it says asks me to install the text-to-speech (TTS) library. If I presss the "Install the TTS" button it takes me to Android Market with a screen saying "There are no matches in the Android Market for the search: pname:com.google.tts"

The weird thing is, I have Text-To-Speech installed already, it installed when I used Navigation for the first time. I am able to go to the Text-to-speech menu in the settings menu and the example plays fine.

Does anyone know what the problem is and if there is a solution?

Thanks

Upvote 0
I am new to Android and am having the same problem with Google Translate. The application installed fine but when I start it asks to install Text-To-Speech Extended, I press the install button and it says asks me to install the text-to-speech (TTS) library. If I presss the "Install the TTS" button it takes me to Android Market with a screen saying "There are no matches in the Android Market for the search: pname:com.google.tts"

The weird thing is, I have Text-To-Speech installed already, it installed when I used Navigation for the first time. I am able to go to the Text-to-speech menu in the settings menu and the example plays fine.

Does anyone know what the problem is and if there is a solution?

Thanks

You can download and install the TTS extended on your own.