1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Translation Offline

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by gpup, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. gpup

    gpup Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    39
    0
    15
    Does anyone know how to turn on offline mode in Google Translation? I downloaded the appropriate language packages for use in offline mode, but when I try to translate something I still get an error that it cannot connect to the network. It's very annoying. I searched through all the settings and can't find a way to activate offline mode. It seems like it works sometimes if my WiFi is turned off, but if my WiFi is turned on and just not logged into a network then it won't work. I never like using the App in online mode because it's very slow. Anyone know how to turn on offline mode?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. dontpanicbobby

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    14,674
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    14,674
    9,247
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    juliankoh likes this.
  3. gpup

    gpup Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    39
    0
    15
    Yep, I'm using text input. Not handwriting, not voice recognition. And it only works if I'm not connected to a network. So I have to turn off my WiFi in order for Google Translate to work (unless I'm at home connected to my home network). I feel so dumb that I can't figure out how to activate offline mode! Anyone had success with it?
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,180
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,180
    1,340
    323
    Black Forest
    Not sure about ... I think for translating single words it is using the offline dictionary but for translating a whole sentence it would need a data connection.

    But I haven't noticed any difference between using mobile data or WiFi :)

    Harry
     
  5. gpup

    gpup Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    39
    0
    15
    The thing is that it works fine once I turn my data and Wi-Fi OFF. But with Wi-Fi on, it keeps trying to connect to the network and then tells me network convection failed. Yes, I know, that's why I downloaded the offline dictionary, but I can't figure out how to get it to use it without turning off my Wi-Fi. Did they just completely forget to put in a setting for offline mode? Seems pretty dumb to me!
     
  6. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,331
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,331
    16,771
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I often use the Google Translation app, English and Chinese, and I've downloaded the Chinese offline dictionary as well. AFAIK offline/online mode is automatic, if the internet is available either 3G or WiFi it goes online, if not it's offline. So I don't understand what's happening for the OP. It tells me in the translation if it was done offline. It's never nagged me about connection failed or anything like that. For single words offline mode is OK. For sentences it really has to be online, otherwise I just get a word for word translation with no attention to grammar or context.
     
  7. gpup

    gpup Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    39
    0
    15
    It is automatic and that's the problem. When there's a WiFi network in the area it keeps trying to connect because it wants to use online mode and then I get a connection failed error message and no translation at all. Sometimes I have like 1 bar of service so it tries to use my mobile data, but it takes 10 minutes to translate 1 word because the connection is intermittent and slow. And I can't figure out how to switch it off automatic mode so that the thing actually works! It's fine when I have a solid stable internet connection, but when I have no internet, the thing doesn't work at all unless I turn off all my data, which is a real hassle just to translate a word or two! Anyone find a solution to this problem?
     

Share This Page

Loading...