1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Voice App

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by mpossoff, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. mpossoff

    mpossoff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    I'm in the market for an android device however I'm not able to locate google voice app that is available for the iPhone.

    There are 2 types of google voice apps via the iPhone. One is a direct dial/VoIP solution the other is an app that works seamlessly with the iPhone which I'm looking for in the android market. It doesn't use VoIP. It's not a direct dial. You can set it up where it calls your google voice number back. Since I have the 1400 minute family plan I have my GV # in the list so it's free calling.

    Tested an htc went to the market and can't find anything similar. The only thing I can find similar is what I don't want, direct dial over wifi or 3G.

    Any help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. RichSz

    RichSz Not Entitled
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,086
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,086
    1,173
    313
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Between Imladris and Lothl
    I'm having a hard time following your post. Are you asking how to get a GV app on your iPhone or are you asking to be recommended an Android phone? If it's the former, I think you've come to the wrong forum since this one focuses on Android topics and we're not really Google Voice experts. You won't find any apps in the Android Market which will work on an iPhone so you'll need to go to their AppStore for that.

    Looking at your other posts, I sorta see where you're coming from. I don't think this is the right place for your questions. Have you tried iPhone forums? They should have a better idea how to do what you want on that phone.
     
  3. mpossoff

    mpossoff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    I'm looking for an android GV app that is the same as the iPhone.
     
  4. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,523
    259
    163
    You can also use a friends/family type plan in conjunction with a GV Callback program to make free calls.
     
  5. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    I think we're confused mostly because we have no idea what a Google Voice app for an iPhone does -- because we don't have iPhones.

    Are you interested in the parts of Google Voice where you have one number for all your phones? Where you can make calls either from your cell # or your Google voice #? Where your voicemail gets converted to text and sent to your gmail box?

    If you have already set up your Google Voice account and given it your Android phone #, just download the Google Voice app from the Market. After you tweak your settings in Voice and in the Google Voice app, you'll be able to do those three things.

    If those things aren't what you want, you need to tell us what you do want.
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    No need to have any experience with GV and an iPhone. The OP explains what is desired above.

    The thing is that the GV app itself doesn't do this. The OP needs to find something like gvMyNumber which dials out via the GV number. IIRC there's a newer app that does this as well but its name escapes me at the moment. Keep in mind that these apps, however, do not replace the GV app. You'll probably still want the GV app itself (which isn't VOIP either).
     
  7. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,641
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Google Voice Callback Donate - Android Application on the Android market (there is a free version, I like it so paid)
    This will do exactly what you want.
     
  8. regression

    regression Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,017
    126
    163
    Male
    Memphis, TN
    I agree this matches what I think the OP wants. One thing to keep in mind though. When I used this app (I don't have it install any longer), when I selected a number to dial, it would use data to communicate with Google before calling me back.

    If I had my GV number as a "friends and family" number, then I wouldn't get charged voice minutes. But, there is some data usage associated with initiating the call. Admittedly, the data usage would probably be very small, but it is still there.
     
  9. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    OK, I'm not understanding this. I have Google Voice installed. When I select a contact and tell the phone to dial, it pops up a box asking me if I want to use Google Voice or my regular number. If I select Google Voice, it dials the number to Google Voice, the dialing code, and then the number I want. My GV # appears on the phone of the person receiving the call.

    Yes, that call counts against my voice minutes. But the OP said he wasn't worried about minutes since he has 1400 and has the GV number on his friends and family.

    GV Callback seems to be about automatically selecting who to call with GV and, in conjunction with other apps, making free calls.

    Am I still missing something?
     
  10. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,641
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    No, you aren't missing anything really.
    You are using your minutes for outgoing calls, and if you are good with that then that's fine.
    I know I have to use GV and GVCB, I have 5 lines on my family plan and need to conserve my 1400 minutes. When I place a call the GVCB app intercepts it and calls me back on my GV number (it has an auto answer feature which is nice). This then is a free incoming call (GV # on FF), even though I am making an outgoing call. There is a delay while it connects and calls me back but that delay is OK with me, I like free calls.
    If you have FF and add your GV number to that then calls coming in to your GV are free...so the app can allow you to make outgoing calls that look like incoming calls. There used to be static access numbers for GV and folks added that to FF, but that is no longer the case so to fully utilize GV and FF this is (for me) the easiest way. (hopefully that makes sense...)
     
    Darkseas likes this.
  11. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,753
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Exactly.
    Correct.
    Yes, via wifi or whatever.
    No, you've got it. But people reading this should understand that calling with the built-in GV app is painless - just pick 'Call with Google Voice' and go like a normal call. All you need is a standard cellphone voice service connection. Using apps like GV Callback will only work with an active data connection, plus you have to wait for GV to call you back and answer your phone to complete the call.
     
    Darkseas likes this.
  12. regression

    regression Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,017
    126
    163
    Male
    Memphis, TN
    I know in one of the last couple of updates to the official GV app, a change was made so you weren't supposed to need a data connection to initiate a call. However, some testing on my end doesn't always show that.

    I disabled wifi and my mobile network. So my phone has no data connection. I tried calling a number I call a lot using the GV app. All went OK. It dialed the special "access number" and connected me.

    Then, I tried calling a phone number using GV that I have not called before. I got an error saying try again or call without GV. I turn on the mobile network and try that number again with GV, and it goes through. I turn the mobile network off again and I still cannot connect to the number using GV.


    So, it appears numbers I call a lot using GV do not need a data connection. However, numbers I have not called using the GV app do need a data connection.

    I would be interested to see if anyone else has a similar experience as I do. Hopefully I am not brining this thread off topic, but for someone who relies on GV (either the official Google app or Google Voice Callback), they need to understand if it will or will not work without a data connection.
     
  13. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    What you're missing is that the GV app dials out via an access number that changes with each call. If you watch the screen it displays the access number being used.

    See above. Simply having your GV number in F&F doesn't make outbound calls free since the GV app doesn't dial out via your GV number. Another app, such as gvMyNumber, GVCallBack, etc is needed to accomplish what the OP is asking for.
     
    Darkseas likes this.
  14. hawk65

    hawk65 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have a droid x with android 2.2.1. I have used google voice for months and it has worked flawlessly. Last week, my SD card died, i replaced it and since that happened my phone will not call out using my GV number. GV is set up to ask me on every call and i have even set it to make every call with GV. I have uninstalled/reinstalled GV and have had no luck. Each time i make a call i get the message "Using Regular Number".

    I have tried with and without wifi, and nothing seems to fix this.

    Any ideas on how i can get the option to work again and get it to call with GV number?
     

Share This Page

Loading...