1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General google voice can't complete setup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by badfrog, May 2, 2010.

  1. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    183
    10
    38
    I fix stuff
    Coast of Maine
    ok, I had this same problem on my eris with the v2 leak, I now have the v3 leak and the same thing still happens.

    I install voice, fire it up and start the setup, I get to the page where it asks me to allow or deny access, I click allow, and it force closes.
    does this every time. same thing happens if I select deny.
    if I try to exit, sense force closes and has to restart.

    anyone else experience this or have any insight?
     

    Advertisement

  2. omfgwtflawl

    omfgwtflawl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    171
    6
    36
    Dover, DE
    Did Google send you Voice invites to use with Google Voice?
     
  3. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    183
    10
    38
    I fix stuff
    Coast of Maine
    umm. yes, I have a google voice account.

    I figured it out, when it prompted me for my account and gave me the option to sign in with a different account, I chose that and entered my info manually and it finally went through
     
  4. omfgwtflawl

    omfgwtflawl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    171
    6
    36
    Dover, DE
    Ahh okay, I didn't mean anything negative by my post earlier btw. I was just making sure that you knew you didn't just get GV when downloading that app. Although... wouldn't that make sense to get it when you downloaded that app? Idk, not my app or program D:
     
  5. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    183
    10
    38
    I fix stuff
    Coast of Maine
    when running the setup, it automatically prompts you to authenticate with your phones google account, which in this case is the same one I use with google voice, and for some reason, when I select the account and say "allow" it crashes voice, and then if I exit, it crashes sense. but if I select "use different account" and manually enter the same account, it works fine.
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    That is just weird, but I'm glad you finally got it working.
     
  7. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    183
    10
    38
    I fix stuff
    Coast of Maine
    I had originally thought it was a bug with the v2 leak, but I saw that others were using it, so I figured maybe it didn't like something on my phone. so when v3 came out, I tried it first, and had the same results, so I knew it wasn't a conflict with another app. I'm baffled, but hopefully this might help someone else who runs into the same symptoms
     

Share This Page

Loading...