1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Google Voice Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Steenport567, May 1, 2011.

1. Steenport567

Steenport567 Lurker
    None

May 1, 2011
    Just got a Thunderbolt Android phone from Verizon. I got it so I could use Google Voice. I have no cell service here at home. I was hoping to use Google Voice on this phone through my Wi Fi so I could make and receive calls through the Google Voice number. When I tried calling from home and it said call failed.

Anyone know how to get it to work? I am new to all of this. Thanks!

Advertisement

2. Superion

Superion Lurker
    None

Apr 26, 2011
    Hi, Steenport567!

I'm new to Android, but based on what I know of cell-phones and the application(s) you are trying to use, what you are attempting to do isn't possible.

Google Voice is merely a service that allows you to link your existing phone numbers/lines to one Google Voice number...that is, Google will supply you with a telephone number, and through Google, you can then link that number to one or several of your existing phone lines (either landlines or mobile-phones). The idea is to enable you to give other people one number that can access all of your phones, and it looks like you can control that access (through call-lists, scheduling, etc.)

Note that you still have to have an existing line of your own...Google Voice is, in and of itself, NOT a phone service. I'm thinking that this is why your calls are failing...you yourself still don't have actual cell-phone service.

I hope this helps...and good luck!

3. substring

substring Android Enthusiast
    None

Aug 8, 2010
    Dallas, Texas
    Pardon me but I don't understand the rationale of this. If you have a cell phone, why can't you just use that phone to make and receive call?