1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Google Voice Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BigDaddyFromCincinnati, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. BigDaddyFromCincinnati

    BigDaddyFromCincinnati Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    Cincinnati
    Does anyone know if by forwarding my Verizon voice mail to my Google Voice number does the #71 use your minutes or is there an extra charge?
    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    No additional charge, but it does use minutes. You can listen to your voicemail online though, and that uses data
     
  3. BigDaddyFromCincinnati

    BigDaddyFromCincinnati Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    Cincinnati
    How do you text from your phone using Google Voice?
    Sorry, just got my # and I'm new to this.
     
  4. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,773
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    Just download the Google Voice app from the Marketplace. You can SMS from there. It has all the features in there. Also you can have GV transcribe your voicemails and text them to you so you don't have to bother listening to them.
     
  5. BigDaddyFromCincinnati

    BigDaddyFromCincinnati Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    Cincinnati
    I see with the app I can go in and change the label to SMS and then compose a text I assume. How do I get the To: box to auto complete with my contacts?
     
  6. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,773
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    Mine does. I just start typing in the first name of the person and it populates a list after the first few characters. I'm presuming it's pulling it off of my Google contacts and not the contacts on my phone (even though they are the same).
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Hmmm my google voice only acts as a voicemail box. How are you guys getting anything for sms on there?
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    After you download the Google Voice app and open it, press Menu->Compose. That will send SMS messages from your Google Voice number.
     
  9. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    When I hit menu I only get Refresh, Labels, Balance, Settings, help.
     
  10. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    Thats strange ... your in the inbox, right? I wonder if its a 1.5/2.1 thing. ekyle, do you have 1.5 still, or did you do the leaked update to 2.1 ... I am still on 1.5
     
  11. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Yep, I just uninstalled and reinstalled it to make sure I didn't skip something in the setup, but there is nothing there. I have never had it in the past, but I would like to start using the sms option now.
     
  12. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Ok, I figured it out. I didn't have a normal Google Voice number or something. I went into my account and changed it and now everything works as you guys describe.
     
  13. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    Good deal
     
  14. BigDaddyFromCincinnati

    BigDaddyFromCincinnati Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    Cincinnati
    Got it working !!!!
    The numbers are auto filling in.
    Thanks everyone for the info !!!!
     
  15. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,773
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    I'm still running 1.5. I'm going to wait for the OTA. Sorry about the wait, I didn't check back in here last night.

    You got it. I did the same thing when I first started using Google Voice. I couldn't figure out why I couldn't send SMS through the app. I did some Googling and found that you needed a Google number to do it.

    Congrats! Enjoy :)
     
  16. Heliotropic

    Heliotropic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    90
    7
    16
    Utah
    Any chance Google Voice has pushed SMS on 2.1?
     

Share This Page

Loading...