1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Voice with Talkatone: can it be loaded on a phone but not interfer with normal calls?

Discussion in 'Google' started by dan330, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,202
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,202
    3,788
    1,123
    I have google voice phone number... on my old S3 sprint. I will pay to transfer the phone sprint number to google voice. cancel sprint.
    I could keep this setup on the S3. and have 2 phones.. but I don't want to carry 2 phones.

    I have a new Note3 on ATT. 3GB data limit.
    with it's own phone number from ATT.. it is for work.

    question:
    can I load Google voice and Talkatone.. on my new Note3?
    and Voice/talkatone not interfere with my ATT phone calls and messages?
    two fully separate phones services (phone calls and texting).. but housed in one device.

    example:
    friends and family can can call or text to me on old-number..
    the Voice/talkatone apps will ring or notify me on the Note3

    when work calls the new-ATT-number.. the Note3's dialer and text app will ring or notify me.

    is this how it works?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,919
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,919
    4,919
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Thread moved from Android Lounge. There are other threads in this forum related to coexistence of the two environments (carrier and Google).

    ... Thom
     
  3. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,757
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dan330, yes that is pretty much how it works. The old number work with GV/Talkatone and new number will ring the new phone. Both using the new phone.
     
    dan330 likes this.
  4. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,202
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,202
    3,788
    1,123
    Talkatone vs Groove IP
    which is better? and why?

    also.. what will show up on the other party's caller ID?
    when I call from Talkatone vs when I call from the phone's phone?
    I am hoping 2 different numbers will show up.. depending on which service I use.
     
  5. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,757
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    I use Talkatone and never tried GrooveIP. Talkatone is working pretty good for me, I'm currently using it with GV. I'm on the Tmo $30, 100 voice minutes, unlimited text & data prepaid plan.

    When you call using Talkatone/GV, that number will show. When you call using the carrier's number, it will show.
     
    dan330 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...