1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

General "Got 2.1? OMG! Don't blink or u'll lose ur 3G!!!1!" ---> WTF?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cantare, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. cantare

    cantare Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    12
    5
    16
    [​IMG]

    Is there any validity whatsoever to the above?

    This dire warning was plastered all over the main VZW device forums here recently. As data-wipe is a routine step when flashing a custom ROM, it certainly raised a few eyebrows in xda and other quarters. Now the posts are just gone...
     

    Advertisement

    AnotherHiggins likes this.
  2. batjeeper

    batjeeper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    53
    17
    18
    I did several hard reboots playing with root over the weekend and my phone is just as good as they day it arrived. I also did a reboot for a co-worker and his phone was fine as well. I'm not saying that 4 or 5 reboots is a good sampling, but this has not affected me.
     
  3. dreamsensei

    dreamsensei Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    I reverted to 100% stock from the first Froyo leak. Undid Root, reflashed the original image. No problems over here. Not entirely sure that counts, but just chiming in with my results.
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    For the amount that I have flashed, reprogrammed, etc. I can't say that this is valid at all. There may be rare cases where an issue was encountered, but I have yet to see it even once.
     
  5. heyeaglefn

    heyeaglefn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    327
    54
    53
    Haven't heard one person to have this problem, and if it was this big of an issues with Verizon tech's being puzzled then we would have heard something.

    What's the rule about posting false information?....
     
  6. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    280
    34
    43
    I flashed back to factory like 6 times wiping everything and never had this problem. 3G still going strong.
     
  7. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    There isn't. Otherwise 87% of the people on this site would be gone :)
     
    waynester and jayefef like this.
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Including those that make up statistics :D
     
  9. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    It just seems a little thin to me. I've rooted, and gone back, and rebooted many, many times. Plus, do moderators misspell "tuned"? I tend to think that 60% of the time they never do.
     
  10. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    409
    97
    53
    Software Developer
    Trinity, FL
    When I asked the OP about this they said it had something to do with Verizon's Activation after a factory reset.
     
  11. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    It sounds like this is much ado about a select few devices (probably less than a handful) encountering a problem elicited from a very specific set of conditions not easily replicated.

    It is not, I repeat NOT simply due to running 2.1 and doing a factory reset. If it were, there would be hundreds of thousands of people on Android phones with no 3G service.

    I've done multiple factory resets while running 2.1 and have never had a problem. So have THOUSANDS upon THOUSANDS of others. It's an option in the settings menu. It's meant to be done.

    If this were as commonplace as it is implied to be, it would be all over the news and Verizon would put out a notice warning people.
     
  12. cantare

    cantare Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    12
    5
    16
    Thanks...that jibes with my own experiences as well. I think a lot of us here and elsewhere have done resets/wipes without any apparent harm to our 3G connectivity.

    Re: posting false info etc, well, that was kind of my point. People make important decisions based on this type of stuff. So if someone in a position of authority takes it on himself to spam locked stickies in bold red type with alleged "inside info" implying most Android rooters/hackers/flashers are doing permanent damage to their phones, then that person has a duty to stay with the thread and either update with confirmation and details, or post a freaking retraction if they realize it was unsubstantiated BS.

    Trying to retromod your own misinformation into oblivion (A) is ineffective (b/c of twitter, trackbacks, reposts etc), (B) looks seriously @%$#ing weak and (C) leaves a lot of people very confused as to what the hell all that was about. :mad:
     
    ckelly33, AnotherHiggins and eyc like this.
  13. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
  14. seVer

    seVer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #210
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    798
    140
    103
    Unknown. Previous VZW Tech Support for 7 years.
    I've only done 1 reset, and that was a couple months ago... never had a problem. I've known people with Incredible who have had to reset... never had a problem.

    If it were an internal issue, why would it be so spread across multiple phones, especially those from different manufacturers???? And even more so, only on phones that are sold by VZW?!
     
  15. AnotherHiggins

    AnotherHiggins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    250
    55
    73
    NC
    I completely agree with the OP.

    I started getting the Low Space warning last week. One of the most commonly cited "fixes" is to do a factory reset. Several hours after posting here for help (link) I saw the Sticky thread from a mod and thought, "I'm glad I saw *that* before hosing my phone".

    I checked back every day or two waiting for the OP to post an update. Nothing. Then today the whole thread is just gone with no explanation?

    That was very poorly handled.
     
    eyc likes this.
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Ive reset my phone a bunch of times, no problem with getting data back afterward.
     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I understand the doubts being voiced here, but to suggest that Trident made the post without good reason is frankly ridiculous. Unfortunately he's not around right now to answer himself but I'm sure he will as soon as circumstances i.e. life outside of AF allows. Until then I think it's best to temporarily close this thread, as his character and motives are being called into question in his absence.
     
  18. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    The issue has since been resolved. I only posted that notice to help and warn the community to the best of my ability, excuse me for trying I guess.. :(

    This was a serious flaw in Verizon's system and I was only trying to warn you all. In the thread cited above, you can even see where some members are able to reproduce this issue. Also, if you guys actually read my post, it CLEARLY stated that it had only been occurring one day prior to me posting that thread. Let's all try to read a bit more carefully next time.. :rolleyes:

    Also, I'm still very curious as to why this thread was created in the first place.. I removed my thread yesterday.

    I'm very disappointed and hurt by everyone's rude behavior and personal attacks on me. Once again, sorry for trying to help. :(

    /Reopened.
     
    JustDroid and jayefef like this.
  19. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Actually, Verizon did not fix the issue.

    There is another thread floating around here where the poster fixed it, and gave the solution.
     
  20. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Care to link me?
     
  21. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
  22. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
  23. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    For those that are "bashing" Trident. Read
    http://androidforums.com/htc-incredible/141289-regarding-dont-factory-wipe-2-1-sticky-2.html

    Trident was simply relaying information that he got somewhere. Why on earth would any Moderator on this site purposely post bad information or ANY information they didnt seem to think was neccessary. Instead of bashing, why don't you do more research on your own. Not everyone is affected by this, but MANY are. Dont believe, call VZW Tech Support. Ask for a Tier 2 rep (good luck though...lol). They will verify this as they did with me. My Incredible did this and I was having 3G issues. These threads helped me get my problem resolved!

    So....to those who are HELPFUL, thanks for the information!!
     
    jayefef and Trident like this.
  24. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Its a solution to those who have lost data, yes.

    Its not a solution to Verizon's screwed provisioning system.

    Those two had also reactivated and not had it work. They had to do it themselves.

    I don't see how its not a solution. It clearly fixes it, and points the problem at Verizon and their provisioning setup.
     
  25. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    It is VZW provisioning with exsisting Alltel customers. That seems to be where the main problem lies. There are 12 million ported Alltel customers. Now, how many of those may have 2.1 android phones...don't know. But I can imagine a good handful. Now all it takes is for one of them to reset there phone. (Which is the #1 troubleshooting tip given by Tech support and customer service). So although no "solution" is found, the issue has been narrowed down.
     
    Trident likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...