1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Got the My Photon! Where's the Hotspot?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eversontx, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. eversontx

    eversontx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    37
    5
    16
    I got my Photon at a Sprint store. I didn't have them activate it because I wanted to play with it before I activated it on my line. I currently have the EVO3D and wanted to see if I liked it before I activated it on my line.

    I brought it home, connected it to my WIFI and started downloading apps and playing with the phone. However I can't find the HotSpot feature anywhere on the phone.

    Is this because it's not activated and the Hotspot feature will download upon activation? or will Sprint have a software update once I activate it that will include the HotSpot feature? I currently pay for the feature so it's on my line, I just wanted to find out whats up.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thrifty

    thrifty Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    112
    13
    38
    The hot spot runs off your 4G. No activation = no hot spot.
     
  3. eversontx

    eversontx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    37
    5
    16
    I know that the HotSpot won't work until I activate it, I'm not stupid LOL

    I was just asking where I could find the HotSpot icon to place on my home page. No worries though I found it.
     
  4. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    Its there. Can anyone confirm if it will allow you to without signing up for the hotspot plan? It seems as though it does.
     
  5. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    Can someone test this and get back to us? It would be sweet if this were true. I'd like to save $29.99 per month.
     
  6. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    I'll see what I can find out (if someone doesn't beat me to it) but if this is the case, I bet it's days will be numbered. Just mentioning it here may have alerted Sprint haha.
     
  7. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    Doesn't seem to work. I was able to connect my laptop to it and the phone displayed that there was a device connected, but I aint getting' any in'ernet.
     
  8. l1fe

    l1fe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Fired up Hotspot, was able to connect my laptop to the device, but unable to get an IP address for 4G. I was able to connect with PdaNet and am seeing good 4G connection speeds in the NOVA area.
     
  9. mobilebucky

    mobilebucky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Same here, except I actually sign up for the service. As soon as i turn on hotspot 4g is disconnected. Not impress so far.
     

Share This Page

Loading...