1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General GPRS connecting automatically

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by marc81, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. marc81

    marc81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi :)

    Ive just got my galaxy ace and love it. The only problem i have is this; i want the phone to connect to my wireless when home, and use the GPRS when out and about to get on the internet. When i turn the packet data on though, it seems to periodically coonnect to the GPRS even when i have wireless. I found this out when i went to check my usage online and there was data usage in the middle of the night - not good! The only way i have found to get round this is by turning the packet data off but then every time i am out and want to go on the net i have to turn it back on in the settings which is a bit of a pain. Dies anyone know a way to solve this? I really dont want the phone to be eating in to my data alliwance when im sat at home with a wireless connection.

    Many thanks

    marc
     

    Advertisement

  2. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON
    you have maybe installed an app that you gave gprs privileges to. this means the app can use the gprs anytime it wants,.:)
     
    socrates0 likes this.
  3. bigbaldbloke

    bigbaldbloke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    199
    50
    53
  4. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    I agree with @chismay as I too have suffered this after I installed 2 apps & found the GPRS being used even when I was scrolling thru my home screens :(. So i have switched off 'Use data packet' as I use only wifi at home. Using a profile manager seems a good way to overcome this problem :)
     
  5. marc81

    marc81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for your replies. I have downloaded an app so i can have a widget on my home screen which allows me to turn the packet data on and off with one touch.. a fair compromise i suppose.

    Marc
     
  6. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    Can you share the name of this app, I may try it out too :D
     
  7. bigbaldbloke

    bigbaldbloke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    199
    50
    53
    I used "Galaxy 3G Setting" until I flashed a ROM that has profiles built in.
     
  8. marc81

    marc81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    The one i am using is called 'data enabler widget'.

    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...