1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPRS Stuff

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jo The Veteran, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Jo The Veteran

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    36
    1
    16
    Temp
    Greece
    So I've just installed the 2.2 Froyo custom ROM to my Hero and I'm all happy and stuff while exploring the new OS that I don't notice the Internet that the phone is using is actually draining my sim's remaining credit. How could I after all? I disabled 3g and mobile Internet carriers at once in options, it was the first thing I've done after the first boot. I've even created a dummy access point for mobile Internet just in case I were to connect by mistake.

    So after having done all that, can anyone explain to me how my credit was all gone? about 15 of
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    GPRS runs over the 2G network. I'm not sure why, when you explicitly set a 'null' APN, you've remained connected to Vodafone though.
     
  3. Jo The Veteran

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    36
    1
    16
    Temp
    Greece
    Null access point AND disabled data connections over mobile, it seems impossible right? Yet it DID happen! A bug in the ROM perhaps?

    What about the GPRS data counter? I remember even my old Nokia 7610 had a feature like that, it can't be that this way newer device doesn't have one also.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...