1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPS Abruptly Stopped Working?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Squidward, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. Squidward

    Squidward Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    This weekend, returning from a roadtrip, I fired up my Navigation and got only the "Searching for GPS" notification in perpetuity. Network location was working. Chalking it up to cloudy skies and just general Murphy's Law, I carried on without thinking much of it. After about an hour on the road, the skies had cleared and I tried again...same thing. My brother was in the car who also has a droid. He tried his and GPS located and worked just fine.

    Yes, my GPS is on. :) I've turned it on and off several times, went into and out of airplane mode, of course rebooted. Did a battery pull today. Still not working. Uninstalled most recent updates on the Maps app, didn't work. Reinstalled the updates...well, why would that make it work.

    The GPS "broadcasting satellite" icon comes up in my status bar when attempting to locate...just never succeeds. It seems to be not working for any App that requires GPS (i.e., not just Maps or Navigation)

    Soooo...any ideas? Much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RandolphNY

    RandolphNY Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    175
    11
    38
    I think that we might be having satellite problems. I had the same problem this morning in WNY. It worked fine this afternoon.
     
  3. Prime

    Prime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    194
    2
    56
    yeah I was having trouble with getting a gps signal earlier this morning
     
  4. Squidward

    Squidward Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    But satellite problems wouldn't explain one phone having working GPS in the exact same spot as another phone didn't, would it? And this has been sustained for about 36 hours now...
     
  5. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Sometimes this problem is caused by a certain app taking control of the GPS receiver and not giving it up. Did you download anything that might use the GPS recently? Have you tried rebooting the phone?
     
  6. Rons

    Rons Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    58
    9
    16
    Are you on froyo?
    Or have you updated your baseband lately?
     
  7. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    Download GPS Test.. great app as it show shows many satellite your connected to and gives their strength level and where in the sky they are located. good tool to have around.
     
  8. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    In some cases I've had to reactivate to get GPS working again. It's extremely unlikely that it's clouds or an issue with the satellites themselves.

    I suggest taking the following steps (go to the next if the step doesn't resolve your issue):

    1. Cycle GPS off and then on.
    2. Power cycle the Droid.
    3. Reactivate (*228, option 1).

    GPS Status is a handy app to have.

    Also, remember that GPS on the Droid is assisted so it does attempt to retrieve Ephemeris data to obtain an initial lock. I suspect there's a common issue there or with falling back to standalone mode. The GPS receiver on my BB 8310 (which was always standalone) never had such problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...