1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General gps acquire time ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by you2, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    I haven't played with gps much (since it does not work at all inside) but i tried to use it outside when I was looking for a store and it seemed to take a couple of minutes to find my location (I did not time it so it is hard to have a real feel for how long it took; basically i turned on gps; look up the location I wanted to go in maps; and then tried to get direction from my current position and I had to exit maps two or three times until it finally acquire my position - I would guess it was somewhere between 30 seconds and 3 minutes - probably 1.5 to 2 minutes). Is this normal behavior for gps ? For some reason I thought it would be more or less instant.
    --
    This was with all other location services (verizon/google) turned off.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Hello you2.

    I've found GPS to not be consistent as far as accuracy and time to locate goes. Sometimes, right in the same area, it's pretty slow. Other times it'll lock in just about instantly.
     
    you2 likes this.
  3. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    It always takes longer the first time. It also helps, if you switch positioning via mobile network in the same menu as GPS.
     
    you2 likes this.
  4. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    Is switching via mobile network; google location services or verizon location services or both? (kind of avoiding using verizion location service if possible).

     
  5. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    I have Google locations services on, and Verizon off, and mine locates me in under a minute. I think having Google's location service on gives the phone a rough location to go by, which then tells it about where the satellites should be. Otherwise it has to hunt for the satellites, which takes longer.

    The Razr is MUCH faster at finding my location than my 6 year old dedicated GPS is. :)
     
    you2 likes this.
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Mine locks on in under 30 seconds every time. Fastest phone GPS I've ever had. I do not use VZW location, but google and GPS location are on. Fwiw...
     
    you2 likes this.
  7. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    I'll test with google services on when I walk home (be aware that wifi is off when I use gps because no wifi signal; wifi location lock is always very fast (for me)).
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I rarely connect to wifi. I use my phone at home for the internets. Lol
     
  9. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    with google location enabled it seemed to acquire a position instantly; it looked like it was gps due to pinpoint accuracy but not 100% sure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...