1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPS Broke

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by geezman, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. geezman

    geezman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    46
    1
    16
    OK, I think my Droid broke. I have not been able to get a GPS lock all day. I've rebooted and did a battery pull with no luck. It just sits there looking for GPS satellites non-stop. I've checked using GPS Status and on the bottom section it just shows the circling arrow like it doesn't even connect to the GPS circuit. Has anyone else seen this? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. JDMS33

    JDMS33 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Ok sounds silly but do you have wifi on? I have had that happen and then i put on my wifi and it works...turn wifi off and it keeps working...
     
  3. pbwhite

    pbwhite Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    56
    2
    16
    Have seen this twice, and some other GPS related anomalies.

    Both times, I tried reboots, unsuccessfully, and after 'baking' the GPS - leaving it outside for at least 20 minutes - it finally figured itself out.

    I have a feeling it's something to do with stale almanac data, and no way to force the GPS to discard that stale data, and refresh it.

    One other time, it showed incorrect location, and claimed it was locked onto enough satellites to give it accurate information.
     
  4. Telstar_2112

    Telstar_2112 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    55
    4
    16
    I also have gps issues as of late. has a lock but position is off by a few hundred miles.
     
  5. geezman

    geezman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    46
    1
    16

    Tried this with no luck. I left it searching on my way into work today and it was unable to get a lock for the entire 1 hour drive. Not sure what to do now.
     
  6. jdb

    jdb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    83
    4
    16
    If I remember correctly...I think I remember somebody posting that holding the phone and doing like a figure eight motion in the air helps recalibrate the gps. I don't know if this is exactly what i read...something along those lines. Maybe use a different search term, like recalibration or something (if you havn't already). Hope I helped and didn't confuse...
     
  7. 2fasst

    2fasst Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    34
    0
    15
    doing figure 8 calibrates your compass, not gps
     
  8. hastings

    hastings Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    geezman...you are outside, right? I've had issues when inside, and even times in the car where it would be off by hundreds of miles. But step outside and I could get a good lock. What program are you using? I've had an issue one or twice with TripComputer where it wouldn't find a satellite. Try using a different program and see if it finds some.
     
  9. geezman

    geezman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    46
    1
    16

    Yes, I've been outside for over an hour today and still nothing. GPS Status is showing only 2 satellites at most, but mostly only 1.



    EDIT: OK, out of the blue, it started working and I'm getting up to 11 satellite locks now. Weird.
     

Share This Page

Loading...