1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPS doesnt work

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hewdoc, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. hewdoc

    hewdoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    My GPS doesnt seem to work, when i open google maps and select my location it says your location is unavailable, It also doenst work in telenav or any other GPS related app, anyone know what might be the problem?

    * and yes GPS is on, and I dont mean Network because that one doesnt give me the right location.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nomadrider123

    nomadrider123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    163
    8
    36
    MN


    I am going to assume you haven't recieved the update yet. Some ppl have reported that after the update their location issue was fixed. Have you always had these issues?
     
  3. megabiteg

    megabiteg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #529
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    274
    40
    43
    Male
    Military
    That happened to me at the start when I just got the phone, the way I resolved it was enabling the "GPS" and "Use wireless networks". You can access these settings via the drop down status bar - GPS menu.

    Let me know if it works!
     
  4. hewdoc

    hewdoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I actually do have the update, and it used to work at one point, Im not sure what might be the problem and I don't want to reset my phone.
     
  5. megabiteg

    megabiteg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #529
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    274
    40
    43
    Male
    Military
    You can try to do the following:

    note: try to enable the before mentioned settings, then...

    1. power down your phone
    2. disconnect the battery
    3. wait 10 - 20 min.
    4. reconnect battery, power on the phone
    5. disable the: ENABLE GPS and USE WIRELESS NETWORKS then re-enable them.
    6. to test if it works, be sure to NOT be indoors. After that it should work anywhere it receives service.

    Let us know.
     
  6. hewdoc

    hewdoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    K im doing it right now ill let you know what happens.
     
  7. hewdoc

    hewdoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    It still doesnt work, it keeps giving me the wrong address, im going to try reseting...ugh
     
  8. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    530
    57
    78
    NYC
    Not working and giving the wrong address are 2 different issues. I get a wrong location when I use 3g to find my location.
     
  9. megabiteg

    megabiteg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #529
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    274
    40
    43
    Male
    Military
    Sorry to hear that.

    Try enabling both features in the phone after the reset. Also, try maybe calling the Tmo CSC and try to reconfirm your IMEI, that also worked for me. (it also made the update download 20 min after I called :D)
     
  10. hewdoc

    hewdoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I reset my phone and now it works with only the Gps enabled...it locates my position exactly...
     

Share This Page

Loading...