1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips GPS fix in a few seconds then spot on accuracy

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dcheech, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. dcheech

    dcheech Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    Retired
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    I've surfed for months & found bits of what works for me to fix this, but never found all of this together:

    I get GPS fix in 5 to 10 seconds outdoors & often indoors by doing the following (I suggest you write down your original settings so you can reset things when not using Sat Nav or other GPS dependent apps):

    - menu - Settings - Location (switch GPS on & Wireless networks off)

    - menu - Settings - Wireless & networks (switch Wi-fi & Mobile network off)

    - menu - Settings - Wireless & networks - Mobile networks - Access Point Names (make sure there is an entry with your network provider name & default,supl underneath it. Create a new entry if this doesn't exist. Highlight this entry)

    - Start GPS Status (it's free from the Market) you should get a very quick GPS fix.

    - In my case Locations & Premium Navigation work smoothly & with spot on accuracy now.

    If this proves useful to others it would be great if a developer with the right skills could write a widget to do this!

    Hope it helps some of you,

    David
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Hi, I don't really understand what you're on when you get to the access point names...
     
  3. Saltine713

    Saltine713 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    690
    55
    98
    Podcaster
    NY
    Yeah, same here. He kinda mentions the access points, then stops.

    Plus, that wouldn't help squat as the GPS uses the satellites, not any mobile data points really. Sure, AGPS helps, but any new access point wont help the GPS lock on to the skybox.
     

Share This Page

Loading...