1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GPS is gone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by goofdad, May 29, 2011.

  1. goofdad

    goofdad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    78
    7
    16
    Software Engineering
    Oregon
    So ... I've tried both Magnolia and Skyraider, and love them both ...

    BUT ...

    On both of those, my GPS seems to be gone. I can go outside, on a clear day, and ask for nav directions somewhere and it just hangs on "Waiting for GPS".

    Navigation is a key feature for me, so I can't give it up ... did I miss something in the installation? Do I need to install something additionally?

    I simply backed up, wiped back to factory, installed ...

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    What radio version are you running?
     
  3. goofdad

    goofdad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    78
    7
    16
    Software Engineering
    Oregon
    How do I find out?
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Menu, settings, about phone, software information, baseband version.

    Might want to try one of the gps apps in the market, such as gps test.
     
  5. goofdad

    goofdad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    78
    7
    16
    Software Engineering
    Oregon
    Baseband version 1.00.03.04.06

    Is that something I should upgrade, and how?
     
  6. alan_s

    alan_s Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    23
    2
    36
    Bristol, UK
    I had problem with my GPS, location not found or jumping all over the place. I got " GPS status " from the market and used that to reset the GPS assistant data. It then worked fine again. Apparently this data stays even after switching the phone off so clearing can only be done with an app.

    Alan
     
  7. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    goofdad likes this.
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
  9. goofdad

    goofdad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    78
    7
    16
    Software Engineering
    Oregon
    That worked! Thanks a million!
     

Share This Page

Loading...