1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GPS issues after rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lowkey69ac, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    Hey all,

    Is anyone else having issues with GPS after rooting? I have tried both Gingervillian and Insertcoin, and seem to be having issues with GPS on both? ANyone else having this issue or know of a cause/solution?

    Thanks all!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    rooting would have no effect on gps itself as all it does is flashes recovery and enables superuser in the rom
    the system image is completely replaced when flashing a different rom

    flash an RUU and see if its still broken, if it is send it back to htc
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Did it start when you rooted or when you flashed custom ROMs? Seems a bit of a coincidence, though those do happen.

    If it only happened when you changed ROMs, have you tried restoring to a nandroid of your original (rooted) ROM? And have you flashed anything else, especially radios or RILs?
     
  4. HTCandroid

    HTCandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    114
    14
    38
    My GPS would not work when i flashed miui for the first time, flashed a different radio and it started working.
     
  5. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    It happened the first time I flashed Gingervillian (was working with the stock ROM), then tried flashing Insertcoin, and still not working? :(
     
  6. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    Tried ReflexS and still no GPS?
     
  7. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    Do you know what Radio you flashed? Might give that a try..

    Anyone know if 5.17.05.08 is safe for the Desire? (I assume it is..)
     
  8. HTCandroid

    HTCandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    114
    14
    38
    i flashed .17 but it is different for different people, i tried .08 and didn't have much luck with that so then went with .17 which worked fine, whereas as others on MIUI were using .08 and had it working fine.

    You may want to wait for Hadron, rasta etc to reply, they know far more than me about android. Although what i have said is what worked for me
     
    lowkey69ac likes this.
  9. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    How do I flash my radio? I couldnt find a setting for it in recovery? Do I just install from zip as I would a rom?
     
  10. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    nevermind, found it :)
     
  11. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    I've never flashed a radio but according to people that know what they're talking about around the forums you've got to be really careful about it. Make sure you read up on it and don't force reboot anything, if you think it's stuck ask someone what to do first
     
  12. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    Oh and please post back as I'm having the same issue with GV 2.5
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It's what I'm using. But GPS not working with 3 different ROMs sounds fishy to me. Did you take a nandroid if your original ROM before flashing? If so, restore to that and check GPS with it - that would ensure it isn't hardware. RUU, as Rasta says, would really make sure, but this should be enough.

    Going offline for 30 mins it so...
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Ok, first question: what radio are you using? In principle any radio with _5. in the number should be ok, so it is odd if one is incompatible with 3 roms (all GB though). So I would try your old ROM first, as that is risk free. But a radio may be the answer.

    Flashing radios is ok if approached carefully. First thing is to check the download is ok, i.e. check the md5. Some of the radios in the dropbox thread have md5 codes supplied, and I think these are now available for radios from the xda radio thread. Personally I'd check after copied to your SD card (AFV or ManD5 from the market).

    Then you flash like a normal zip. It flashes quickly, then installs when you reboot. You must not interrupt this! So don't do this with a low battery, and don't pull the battery if you think something is wrong. It will reboot by itself a couple of times, so this is normal and does not mean you are in a bootloop.

    That's all there us to it really. I've done this many times, but it shouldn't be done on a whim as a bad radio flash is likely to be fatal for the device. As always it's at your own risk. That's why I'd be tempted to spend a few mins checking the original ROM (or even a basic froyo) to check it is software first. But assuming it is, this is the best bet at a fix.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Or you could try a slightly older ROM - an older GV (xda.richardtrip.org/ginger) or Redux, both of which I've found reliable for GPS.
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    P.S. your phone is GSM (SIM card)? Don't flash a radio if not.
     
    lowkey69ac likes this.
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Must be. GV will not work on bravoc
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well that us what I thought, but wanted to play safe.
     
  19. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    Flashed back to the orignial rom, GPS works fine. Flashed to Gingervillan and Insertcoin (just to try an AOSP and Sense rom) and GPS didnt work on either. I have heard from a few others having the same issue, and one of my buddies here flashed his with Gingervillian and gps wouldnt work, then he went back to stock ROM and it worked. Sounds like a rom issue to me. I also tried flashing my radio to latest, but same issue :(
     
  20. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    This is the ONE thing I cant stand about the android phones (One and ONLY thing..lol). We ALL have an HTC desire, yet there are like 20 "versions" of this phone out there. If only they could regulate it so all of them have to have the same hardware, radio, etc it would alleviate a lot of issue. (Im sure there is a reason for them to do it.. just wish there wasnt..lol)
     
  21. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    Yes it is. :)
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    OK, so hardware is good - that's the best news.

    As you say, some others have reported GPS problems with GV2.5 (though many have not), but it's odd it happening with more than one ROM (especially one AOSP and one Sense - quite different).

    For AOSP you could try GV2.3 or 2.4 - you can find these at xda.richardtrip.org/ginger. Or CM7 is quite similar (GV is based on it) - I'm using CM7 light (link in sig), after using GV from about 0.4 to 2.4, and finding it has the GV features that I actually use in a smaller footprint. Or Redux is another deservedly popular AOSP ROM.
     
    lowkey69ac likes this.
  23. togger161

    togger161 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    432
    60
    53
    Electrical Technician
    Birmingham UK
    I had a problem with GPS on both Redux and Oxygen roms, where by phone would get a gps lock and then lose it, then find it again, continually. Updating to a later radio version solved this for me.
     
  24. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    when flashing back to gv 2.4 do you have to wipe first?
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,151
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,151
    16,728
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Wouldn't have thought so. Take a nandroid, try without, if that doesn't work try with.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...