1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Gps Issues?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by monkeyboy_33, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. monkeyboy_33

    monkeyboy_33 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Just wondering if anyone is having any trouble with the Gps. I currently have CRAPtivate (and yes i know its spelled wrong). Looking to upgrade to this phone, but not wanting to go through the same headaches i have been going through the last few months with this phone....

    Thanks in advance for any responses.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jeremy81

    Jeremy81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    87
    17
    18
    Oklahoma
    I used mine around town yesterday and it works extremely well. If fact it reroutes and loads maps quicker and better than any of the other Android phones I've used. It also seems very accurate.
     
    monkeyboy_33 likes this.
  3. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    939
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    939
    242
    93
    Grad student
    Martinsburg, WV & Portales, NM
    The Atrix is worlds apart from the Craptivate (ha! Swype recognized that) in every way. As someone who made the same jump, I can tell you the GPS is 1000% + better.
     
    monkeyboy_33 likes this.
  4. EZMorris31

    EZMorris31 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    I tested the GPS on my way to work this morning. It works so much better than my old crapberry.
     
  5. Erick161

    Erick161 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    have had a few issues. For instance, while using the speed app, it thinks im in KS. Not a big deal i suppose.

    First time i opened maps yesterday, it should be as being down the block on another street. Last night it showed i was about 1/2 mile away. I hope it was that i had the GPS turned off. So, we shall see if it messes up.
     
  6. monkeyboy_33

    monkeyboy_33 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the info. I think I have finally made up my mind. Only bad part is I have to wait until March for my upgrade:(
     
  7. Czarcat

    Czarcat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    107
    19
    38
    IT Manager
    I also came from a Captivate. The GPS on the ATRIX is outstanding so far. It's so nice to see the map update when I've made a turn.

    Also, the ATRIX always keeps me on the street. I'm no longer driving through people's houses and such. :p
     
  8. Simba501

    Simba501 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    479
    40
    63
    The Atrix's GPS is STELLAR. The best GPS I've ever seen on a phone (aside from the iPhone's GPS, which was excellent) and I've had A LOT of phones . . .
     
  9. pinbak

    pinbak Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    127
    5
    36
    Tech Analyst
    I think just about any phone that can put you on the correct continent will be better than the captivate's GPS!! :D My Captivate just plain right out did NOT work period! Even after using the cog rom. It just was horrible!!
     
  10. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #359
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    I use foursquare a lot and this phone finds where I am slightly faster than on my N1. Very happy with the GPS....now if the wifi would only stay connected....
     
  11. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009

    Mar 25, 2009
    378
    14
    38
    Michigan
    Well it's not a Samsung so it should be relatively trouble free
     
  12. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    Yea...I think this pretty much sums it up.....lol

    I hope Samsung learned or listened to complaints last year.
     
  13. Karl_Tx

    Karl_Tx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    70
    0
    15
    I too got rid of my craptivate for the Atrix and now when I use my GPS I get all warm and fuzzy inside. I tried it with a speedometer program....awesome. I tried it inside and guess what.....my correct address using "where am I". No....no gps issues now.:D
     
  14. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    The GPS will be off a bit if you have the 'use wireless locations' box checked. If you let it just use the regular GPS, you should find it to be much more accurate. But the GPS on this is head and shoulders above the Captivate, even with all the "fixes" out there that made the Captivate somewhat tolerable.
     
  15. Simba501

    Simba501 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    479
    40
    63
    Lol, i did too
     

Share This Page

Loading...