1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS Lock Issues?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gsxr150, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. gsxr150

    gsxr150 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    171
    25
    43
    Has anyone else tried to use maps or navigation, and the GPS "lock" just keeps blinking (doesn't lock-on)? For some reason I've had that happen a couple times and had to shut down the phone in order to make it work.
     

    Advertisement

  2. billbishere

    billbishere Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011

    Nov 5, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    search for *GPS FIX* in the market. it will lock sats for you, i have to use it each time I want to use my GPS. GPS is a common problem on most smart phones.
     
    JaniceK likes this.
  3. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    I am seeing the same thing and I've read that it's a recurring issue in galaxy phones. My evo was great. Sitting indoors right next to my gfs OG incredible, this phone takes at least 5 minutes to barely locate 2 satilites, while hers locks onto 5+ in seconds. Very frustrating.

    Ill try this GPS Fix app... If I'm understanding the description right though I don't much see the point. So it keeps the receiver turned on in the background? If the thing plain isn't seeing satilites, how does it matter how long the receiver is active? I could just as easily leave the maps or navigation app in the foreground and wait just as long for a lock. I guess this would just allow me to do other things while I'm waiting.
     
  4. repinphilly247

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    46
    5
    16
    Philadelphia, PA
    My gps doesn't work at all either. Only works when use wireless networks is turned on and i'm at home using wifi. Otherwise it has no clue where i'm at.
     
  5. Sooner97

    Sooner97 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    4
    0
    5
  6. eluno

    eluno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    169
    28
    63
    my gps seems to be working fine no issues at all.
     
  7. da man

    da man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    215
    22
    38
    social worker
    Had this problem for the first time today. I read in another post (not this thread) to just turn airplane mode on, then turn it off. My GPS fixed amlost instantly after that. Thanks to whoever wrote that post. I think ill find that post and add a thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...