1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dorlow, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    I have a Samsung galaxy s4. Lately I've had nothing but problems with it. Mostly the batteey. Normal use and by about noon, the battery is dead. I rooted it and used apps such as lean DROID and other root power saving apps and still not helping. I then tried cynogenmod and had nothing but problems. Couldn't make and. Receive calls etc. Finally getting really frustrated I changed it back to stock rom. Some reason I'm running re same software and it is rooted again but my battery is lasting all day now. Only problem is my gps isn't working. It is on and enabled. But it's way off. Google maps shows me moving when I'm moving but it shows me a city over jumping streets. It's way off. I don't want to do anything drastic because I've had so many other problems. Just want my gps to work. I've rebooted the phone. Both Google maps and waze are not working. Google maps shows me a city over jumping streets. Waze just says it can't determine my location.
     

    Advertisement

  2. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,752
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,752
    2,792
    608
    Illinois
    Sounds like with all the ROM swapping you've been doing one thing to do if you haven't been all along is to clear the system cache partition:
    http://www.itjungles.com/samsung-galaxy-s4-how-to-wipe-cache-partition.html
    Along with that, try installing this 'GPS Status & Toolbox' app:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.eclipsim.gpsstatus2&hl=en
    In its options menu run these tasks to reset your S4's GPS -- 'Calibrate compass', 'Calibrate pitch and roll', and especially 'Manage A-GPS state'.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    I tried the gps fix app. I just sat outside and ran the gps a fix and sat there for 10 minutes and it finished saying there's no fix.
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  5. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    I just restarted the phone into the advanced settings and wiped the cache partition per a few suggestions. It didn't help. Booted back into the OS and opened up GPS status and went outside for a few minutes and found a whopping zero satellites.
     
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,752
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,752
    2,792
    608
    Illinois
    In the GPS Status app, in its menu there's a 'Diagnose sensors' option. When you select it are there green check marks by the 'GPS sensor' and 'Gyroscope' sensors?
     
  7. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    Yes, the gps, gyroscope and gyroscope (uncalibrated) all have green checkmarks.
     
  8. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Found a few threads on GPS antenna fix at XDA and a few other sites. Most say to check that the screws holding the back on are tight especially where the antenna connection is located. Bending up the prongs on the antenna connector for better contact and one fix using aluminum foil to increase contact.

    http://m.instructables.com/id/Galaxy-S4-GPS-repair/
     
  9. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    Today, I booted the phone in safe mode and Google Maps still couldn't determine my location. With this being a brand new phone, I really doubt its a hardware issue. I don't want to take it apart or use aluminum foil to rig it... I think I might try defaulting it again... for the millionth time in the last few months. I did have an aftermarket ROM on it a few weeks back and even with the default image loaded from Kies, the OS still showed Custom. I ran a "hack" yesterday and forced it to say Original or whatever that it's not Custom (because it shouldnt be anymore.) Before the hack, I couldnt install Google updates. Now those work. But if I restore it, I want to make sure somehow it's absolutely factory. Any ideas how to restore it as if it had never been touched? I would've thought a complete default using Kies would do that, but I guess not.
     
  10. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    Well, still have for no where so I gave up and went and bought a new blu phone from best buy
     
  11. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,752
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,752
    2,792
    608
    Illinois
    I'd suggest refraining from multiple ROM changing and experimentation on your Blu if you want to assure that all its functionality remains intact, save that for your S4.
     
  12. dorlow

    dorlow Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    65
    8
    16
    That's my plan
     

Share This Page

Loading...