1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPS not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rodofgod, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    I've noticed that since I've been changing kernels my GPS no longer gets a fix. I use runkeeper, mytracks and google maps and none of them can get a fix. They used to get a fix indoors quite quickly, but now they can't even get a fix outside. I've tried uninstalling the apps, reinstalling them, different kernels, I even reflashed Revo4 yesterday, and still nothing. I also tried the GPS faster fix in the kitchen, though I'm beginning to think that's when my troubles started. Any ideas chaps?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,982
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,982
    3,807
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I was going to suggest faster fix but you've already tried that so I'm not to sure. The only thing I can think is maybe the faster fix zip didn't flash properly. Did you flash it via the kitchen, or boot into recovery mode manually and flash it from there. The kitchen app will fail to instal things properly on some kernels. So it maybe worth trying to reflash.
     
  3. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    I think I flashed it via CWM. I'll try it again saying as I reflashed Revo last night.
     
  4. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    Just tried flashing faster fix via cwm and it failed. End of the message says status 7 installation aborted.
     
  5. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    Downloaded "Fasterfix" from Market and it seems to have cured the problem.
     
  6. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    are you on Siyah 2.6.3 or 2.6.4 by any chance?
    if you are, flash the latest 2.6.4, reboot, then reflash the zip your having trouble with
     
  7. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    Hawker, I'm on Siyah 2.6.2
     
  8. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    Spoke too soon, it's not getting a fix anymore :-( It's so frustrating, it's worked perfectly since I got the phone in August, its only just started doing this. :thinking:
     
  9. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Have you seen ironass's excellent guide on improving gps fix using gps status app?
     
  10. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    Yeah, I came across it before, I'll try it.
     
  11. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    OK, I tried it, and it worked, however, once the screen lock comes on and you unlock the screen again it appears to lose its fix and try to refix once again. Seems to do it everytime the screen goes off.
     
  12. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Sorry to hear of your problems with GPS.

    I have to say that I find the GPS on the SGSII to be very good in general but if you are encountering problems then, as suggested earlier by Sydney99, do follow my guide to improving your speed, lock and location on the SGSII, here:-

    http://androidforums.com/2918122-post88.html

    If you follow this to the letter and are still experiencing problems then I would suggest taking it to a Samsung Care Point and getting the GPS antenna looked at under warranty... they can sometimes be defective.

    (P.S. If you use Juice Defender or a Task Killer that closes GPS, or operations that GPS relies on, this can affect your phone's GPS abilities)

    Hope this helps. :D
     
    iT0mm0 likes this.
  13. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    many thanks for the tips ironass, have printed off and will give it a go tomorrow after work, its not that my gps doesnt connect, but id like it to do it a little quicker
     
  14. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Mine now takes about 10 seconds.

    Please follow every step in the link I posted, very carefully and also ensure that you engage all the settings I mention and that you do not have anything that interferes with those settings.

    One word of warning is that the free version of GpsFix now comes with AirPush ad's:-

    http://androidforums.com/android-lounge/328149-airpush-do-you-want-ads-your-notification-tray.html

    which can be a pain and so after testing to see if GpsFix works it might be a good idea to go for the paid, non-AirPush, version.
     
  15. rodofgod

    rodofgod Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    54
    2
    16
    UK
    I tried it ironasss guide again and touch wood it's working. Used it for a run tonight. Have to say up until this incident I've always found the GPS on the s2 to be excellent
     

Share This Page

Loading...