1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS Problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sjdean, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009

    May 28, 2009
    114
    5
    36
    I seem to be having some problems with gps pickup in programs like google maps and my tracks. While I'm on a wifi network, google maps seems to go to gps really rather quickly while indoors.

    But out in the open, the phone just sits there bouncing from one base station to the other.

    it doesn't even attempt to connect to gps.

    Anyone else having any problems?

    Cheers
    Simon
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ferdimage

    Ferdimage Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    Yeah sounds like a software thing on Maps, when i use GPS Test i pick up like 8 satellites and lock to 5+ ...
     
  3. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009

    May 28, 2009
    114
    5
    36
    Ouch,

    I had a HTC Desire side by side with a Galaxy S, and the HTC Desire picks up more satellites and gets a stronger lock, more satellites, and more accuracy than the Galaxy S.

    Thoughts?

    Picasa Web Albums - sjdean
     
  4. binche

    binche Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    7
    2
    6
    Looks like signal is stronger on the Galaxy S but with less satellite visible, so accuracy is worst.

    Did Galaxy S have enough time to receive all satellite available ?
     
  5. gerberman

    gerberman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    112
    9
    56
    Body Armour maker
    UK
    When I got the phone a couple of days ago google sat nav was fine found sats really fast then I installed the new update for gogle maps and it wouldnt pick any sats up just give the searching message I uninstalled the update and it now works fine, I think google needs to do a bit more work on the software but in time I`m sure it will be great
     
  6. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009

    May 28, 2009
    114
    5
    36
    Oh yes, I'm not a chump. Took about five minutes for the person to take the picture.

    Interestingly, the galaxy sees the same satellites, but the desire seems to allow satellites with a bad v signal to noise ratio.
     
  7. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009

    May 28, 2009
    114
    5
    36
    I still keep getting an issue with my tracks not defaulting to satellite.but I think turning off gps and turning it back on again seems top do the trick
     

Share This Page

Loading...