1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPS question

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Blizzard, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. Blizzard

    Blizzard Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    184
    3
    36
    Is there a way to get total distance to destination on the Google GPS? It displays total time to destination and distance to next turn, but not total distance to destination.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    As far as I know there is no way to toggle that on the main screen

    You can see whats left by clicking
    Menu - Route Info or press the Green Dot then "change route"
     
    Blizzard likes this.
  3. Copleo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    315
    19
    38
    Sodom & Gomorra
    That is not a Google GPS question. There is no such thing as 'Google GPS'. You probably mean this as a question about the Google Navigation app. It is a navigation app question.
     
  4. Blizzard

    Blizzard Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    184
    3
    36
    OK. Whatever you say.
     
  5. Sanuk

    Sanuk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    There are Nice GPS available .some are Android based. I guess you mean that? You might find some GPS which give you all the data numbers you want on earth.
     
  6. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    All for $469.99, Google Nav is free

    Blizzard: don't know what provider you have but Sprint NAV toggles what yor looking for. That said I like Google NAV better. Keep in mind Google NAV is still in Beta so if I were you I'd suggest that option it's a good one

    Google NAV (Beta)
     
  7. Blizzard

    Blizzard Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    184
    3
    36
    Thanks, I will do that.
     
  8. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    1,333
    219
    163
    Pilates Instructor
    South of Boston, MA
    I played with Google Nav yesterday. I was surprised it was working as well as it did, however, it doesn't track, I had to manually move the screen, that wasn't convenient when traveling 70 mph.

    I wish Garmin would just port to Android. I'd pay good money for it.
     
  9. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,350
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,350
    283
    163
    The distinction is important whether you get it or not. The GPS receiver and your GPS app are entirely separate entities. You'll have better luck with discussions if you don't blow off others trying to inform you. Google has nothing to do with your GPS receiver. They have everything to do with Google Maps/Nav.

    We can infer from context that "Google GPS" means Google Maps/Nav but even Google makes far more than just one GPS-enabled app. Being clear on what you mean benefits you.

    Google Nav does automatically. You're referring to Google Maps. If you want Maps to pan with your movements you need to hit the button at the top right (to the right of the Layers button):

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...