1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS slow to pick up a signal

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pcchameleon, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. pcchameleon

    pcchameleon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008

    Sep 28, 2008
    18
    1
    16
    Coming from a G1 and a MyTouch, I noticed that the GPS takes forever and a day to pick a signal compared those HTC phones. I remember that G1's GPS took forever until Cupcake came along, it was a night and day improvement. Any ideas how to improve it other than wait for Samsung to fix it in an update? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigch0ps

    bigch0ps Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    49
    0
    15
    Union Sheet Metal Worker
    Queens, New York, U.S.A.
    Another thing is if you are indoors it won't pickup your exact location. Coming from an iPhone which could locate anywhere I wonder is it this phone or is it s common problem?
     
  3. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    471
    43
    43
    IT, Student
    Texas
    Yea I've seen it take a long while if you are a) indoors or b) moving very fast like in a car. Warning, at least I noticed it when in a moving car on the highway, it really drained the battery(I think a full bar), but it was cool once it got a lock and I could see the dot along with the directional arrow point which way I was turning. Very cool
     
  4. psychoace

    psychoace Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    183
    20
    38
    It does not seem like it's using AGPS and just goes straight to the regular GPS chip. On the G1 it wont be precise the first twenty or so seconds but the blue circle will shrink down and keep shrinking til it gets a complete lock. The Behold II just gets an exact lock and doesn't do approximate. At least that's my theory.
     
  5. boloj

    boloj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    30
    6
    36
  6. fallenturtle

    fallenturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    163
    6
    36
    graphic designer
    San Francisco, CA
    Yea, the Behold GPS is kind of lousy, from what I can tell. Half of the time I'm at my location before it finds a signal. *sigh* 18 more months until I can upgrade.
     
  7. eugenile

    eugenile Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    56
    8
    16
    no problem here
     
  8. blkidea

    blkidea Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    Critic
    LA County
    I completely stopped using the gps because it does not work at all on my BII. Oh well I'm so tired of this phone. I'm waiting for that G2.
     
  9. TheKrell

    TheKrell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    90
    5
    16
    It does take awhile to get a lock but then seems to work fine. I use MapDroid to avoid data plan chanrges.
     

Share This Page

Loading...