1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS suddenly really really slow to acquire for Nav

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by soulesschild, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. soulesschild

    soulesschild Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    5
    56
    Anyone else experiencing really really slow satellite acquisition for their Droid when using Google Nav? Takes a good 5-10 minutes to acquire my location and navigate. It used to be blazing fast, now it takes forever. Any ideas?

    Sapphire 1.1.1
     

    Advertisement

  2. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #229
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    876
    209
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Try going to to Menu>Settings>Location and Security and make sure that "Use wireless networks" and "Use GPS satellites" are both checked. If I remember correctly, the Droid is aGPS capable. So if it can get a tower location, it speeds up the satellite acquisition quite a bit.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  3. Eugene

    Eugene Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    781
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    781
    41
    68
    Male
    Under 2.1 mine would get to where it would take a while to get a fix ad I'd reboot then it would be ok. 2.2 fixed that issue.
    I leave location via networks off as it was so innacurate.
     
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Get GPS Status or a similar app to see what's going on. There are a number of factors that can affect your particular ability to get a quick GPS fix so I wouldn't assume that it's a widespread issue. You'd certainly see other posts if that was the case.
     
    soulesschild likes this.
  5. sbursik

    sbursik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    167
    14
    58
    I am seeing the same thing and so is my girlfriend and 2 of my other Droid buddies. We started seeing this with the last update to Google Maps I believe. 2 of us are running UD8.

    I installed GPS Status and I can see it sitting there with limited data for about 3 or 4 minutes and then all the sudden it starts working. Weird.
     
    soulesschild likes this.
  6. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #229
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    876
    209
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I leave both options checked because weather and other apps that use your general location are much faster with that option and don't have to cut on the GPS every time they update. It cuts down on battery use quite a bit when the GPS doesn't have to fire up in order for Weather Bug to give you "My Location" weather.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  7. Eugene

    Eugene Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    781
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    781
    41
    68
    Male
    I just look outside if I want to know the weather :)
    But seriously, isn't weatherbug one of those known battery killers? My problem was the phone would always put me within three different zip codes using wilress position so anything location based was changing so much it wasted more battery power. With 2.2 the GPS gets a fix very fast unless I'm indoors so it doesn't seem to hurt battery life at all. I have gps enabled for the camera, anypost/pingdroid, etc.
     
  8. soulesschild

    soulesschild Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    5
    56
    That is exactly the same problem for me.
     
  9. sbursik

    sbursik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    167
    14
    58
    I cleared the cache on Google Maps and rebooted and it appears that it made subsequent acquisitions faster. We'll see how long it lasts.
     

Share This Page

Loading...