1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Gps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AZSports, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. AZSports

    AZSports Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Hi all, I'm starting to become a bit frustrated with my Moment. I really want to like this thing, but between the battery glitch and the location services issue, I really have to wonder if Samsung did much testing of this phone before launch. The newest issue I'm having on my Moment is the GPS constantly being used. The little sattelite dish logo on the top bar seems to be constantly on. I have no idea why as I have no apps/widgets running that use GPS for anything. Very odd. I'm going to give it a couple of weeks to see if Samsung/Sprint role out some much needed bug fixes/updates.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bkfist

    bkfist Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009

    Sep 16, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    Have you installed Advanced Task Killer (there is a free version) and looked at what programs are actually running? You might find that Sprint Navigation is running, or some other program that you are not aware of that is keeping the GPS active. Secondly, you can go into the setting menu and turn off GPS if you need to. Stick with it, there will be an update out at some point that should fix the glitches. I had the Hero for 3 1/2 weeks, and switched to the Moment, and I can tell you that the glitches in the Moment are nothing compared to the problems with the Hero. Part of the problems with both phones is that android 1.5 doesn't actually support CDMA networks (which is what Sprint and Verizon use) and the support for CDMA had to be hacked into the 1.5 Android release. Once updates comes out for either of the phones that are based on 1.6 or 2.0 which do have "propper" CDMA support in them, you should see these issues resolved.
     
  3. droid26

    droid26 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    52
    3
    36
    Some people are seeing improvements with their battery life including me. Just make sure you follow the battery quirk thread. As for the gps, Not sure why it would be running if none of your apps need it but, you can turn it off. Go to settings, then security and location.
     
  4. Adrift

    Adrift Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    716
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    716
    104
    93
    College...
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Actually, out of the box, the weather widget is constantly using GPS to get your current location. You need to delete the widget then put another one on the screen, after this a menu will pop up for you to configure the widget, you need to deselect the "follow my position" option which uses GPS, the put in your current ZIP.

    This is the Weather Channel widgit I am talking about.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...