1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Gps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidnewbie2, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. androidnewbie2

    androidnewbie2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    80
    15
    18
    Google Navigate - "Searching for GPS" - never locks on a satellite! I tried indoors using wifi only and data only and outdoors using data only. I waited patiently until the program gave me an audible alert indicating it can't find a satellite - can't remember exactly what the female voice said.

    Google Maps - GPS can find my exact location only on wifi but not on data only.

    Is everyone experiencing GPS problems? Does anyone have any tips (besides returning it)?
     

    Advertisement

  2. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    Menu | Settings | Use GPS Satellites (checked)?

    Download GPS Status from the Market.

    Go outside.

    How many satellites does it see?
     
  3. androidnewbie2

    androidnewbie2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    80
    15
    18
    Hi. Thanks for your response.

    Use GPS Satellites was/is checked.

    Downloaded GPS Status from the Market and this is what it shows indoors using wifi:

    Fix/Sats.
    7 / 7
    5 / 5
    4 / 4

    These numbers fluctuate.

    Interesting thing is after installing and running GPS Status...all of a sudden I hear the Google Navigate female voice give my first driving instruction...so I open up Google Navigate and the program found a satellite but then a minute later the lady said GPS Signal Lost.
     
  4. Nor*Cal X4

    Nor*Cal X4 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    26
    3
    16
    CNC Machinist
    L.B. X4
    I've experiance issues as well with GPS on the Triumph. I recalibrated the phone and seems to work, but it does take longer the my former phone(Optiums V) did.
    Im hoping there be a fix or and update.:rolleyes:
     
  5. androidnewbie2

    androidnewbie2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    80
    15
    18
    My phone's gps was acting up but then started to work magically; all I did was reboot the phone. Turn by turn navigation worked perfectly. I know this is not very helpful but I'm just reporting my experience.
     
  6. cutterjohn

    cutterjohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    280
    30
    43
    I just tried it in my backyard using the gps test app and got:
    Motorola Triumph official (coming late July; no price yet) - Page 170

    Vertically oriented yielded SIGNIFICANTLY better results than horizontally oriented and it locked up satellites in no more than 20s I'd guess, not the 3s like the other guy got...
     
  7. compulady5

    compulady5 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Same here. GPS test works good to find them-- at least then you know if your phone's gps is working. The rest? I have no idea.

    Aggravating.


    GPSfix ran for 10 mins this morning while I was on the way to work. I've tested Googla maps twice throughout the day, and though it took a while the second time (on my home from work), gps locked in on GM and stayed that way until I shut it down.

    I don't know if that fixed it permanently, but it gives me hope, lol.

    Just sayin.

    Have a good weekend folks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...