1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Grand X Max + OFFICIAL LOLLIPOP UPDATE FROM ZTE!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TomS13VH, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. TomS13VH

    TomS13VH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015

    Jul 19, 2015
    9
    5
    16
    Go to ZTE website. Click on the x max + and scroll all the way down. There it is. And it's awesome!!!! Your current build number should be Z987V1.3.9 Android version 4.4.4 KitKat. The new update is Z987V2.2.12 Android version 5.1

     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    TopherLee513 likes this.
  2. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,951
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,951
    1,468
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    ZTE GRANDâ„¢ X MAX+
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    THE NAME SAYS IT ALL.
    Maximum display size, maximum speed, maximum camera, maximum everything!

    $169.99 from Cricket
    BUY NOW

    [​IMG]
    Support Overview
    Software Updates
    ZTE Grand X Max+ Software Upgrade Instructions (English - DOC - 910KB)

    Android 5.1 Software Update - Software Version: Z987V2.2.12

    Download


    ZTE Grand X Max+ Software Upgrade (ZIP - 867MB)

    Android 5.1 Software Update - Software Version: Z987V2.2.12

    Download
     
    Rose Ortega likes this.
  3. TomS13VH

    TomS13VH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015

    Jul 19, 2015
    9
    5
    16
    Thanks man I was trying to figure out how to do that. Also how do I change from support go general?
     
    AMOCO likes this.
  4. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,951
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,951
    1,468
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    One of the perks of having Chrome.

    EDIT:Support to General,Done.
     
  5. TomS13VH

    TomS13VH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015

    Jul 19, 2015
    9
    5
    16
    If you haven't already can we make this a sticky?
     
    codesplice likes this.
  6. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,951
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,951
    1,468
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    I'm just a Guide,But I will pass the request along to the Mods.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  7. wtr122575

    wtr122575 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    55
    14
    38
    Male
    Baltimore
    I've tried this its not working , I contacted zte and they sent me to cricket who in turn sent me back to zte...complete bs
     
  8. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    8,825
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,825
    10,238
    1,563
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Stuck. :)
     
  9. Darkgobno

    Darkgobno Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015

    Aug 19, 2015
    1
    0
    5

    Hi I found the update thanks for the info. I can't seem to be able to update the phone. I moved the zip to the sdcard like the instructions said but when I try and update from the update from storage card it says it can't find the file. Any help would be appreciated thanks.
     
  10. wtr122575

    wtr122575 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    55
    14
    38
    Male
    Baltimore
    Change the name of the zip to update when done it should read update.zip then reboot and it will recognize it
     
  11. TKIndy

    TKIndy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    11
    0
    15
    Indianapolis
    I assume that you will lose root if you had it when you apply this update?
     
  12. TomS13VH

    TomS13VH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015

    Jul 19, 2015
    9
    5
    16
    Yes you will loose root. Also you have to ADB sideload from recovery. Not sure why the ZTE way doesnt work.
     
  13. TheReseacher

    TheReseacher Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015

    Jul 18, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Female
    Sorry Tom lost internet connection and asked me to finish his post.
    I also tried the ZTE way with no success. So I had to use the Adb side load way through stock recovery (3e). I'm told side load though twrp also works.
    Make sure you type for name exactly as is in path. Also make sure the computer sees that you're device is in side load. You do not need to rename the file.
    If you need help or want a walk through either post here or pm Tom.
     
  14. TKIndy

    TKIndy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    11
    0
    15
    Indianapolis
    I'm going to have to wait until someone roots this. Something to look forward to, though.
     
  15. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Done. I'm uploading a pre-rooted, TWRP-flashable 5.1 update right now as we speak. I'll have it posted in the very near future.
     
    leo5111 and TKIndy like this.
  16. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    thanks Mastercheif, any idea when it will be uploaded?
     
  17. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Deleted
     
    #17 Masterchief87, Aug 24, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
    Stevo4G likes this.
  18. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    Thanks! um where is the twrp? i was looking cant remember where i found it the stock rom for me does not have a reboot into recovery option, just says reboot
     
  19. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Do you not have twrp recovery installed? If twrp is still installed on your phone just hold power to bring up the menu and select reboot then right after you press reboot hold the volume up button until you enter recovery.
     
  20. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    no my twrp is gone
     
  21. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
  22. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    wont let me install recovery because im not rooted i think
     
  23. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Wait did you install the official ota or something?
     
  24. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    i went back to stock 5.1
     
  25. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    and my twrp went bye bye
     

Share This Page

Loading...