1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GrooVe IP data plan needed?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jeffj318, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. jeffj318

    jeffj318 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    65
    2
    16
    Male
    I have the LG Optimus V. I know I use the phone to talk without a data plan if using GrooVe IP and Google voice via WiFi, however, can I connect to a 3g network and use it? I am a little confused thinking it can only be used with WiFi. What I am asking is: If I am out and about and not using WiFi can I use GrooVe IP and still make calls somehow? Please lead me in the right direction here. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,520
    729
    253
    Yes it will use avaliable data connection either 3g or wifi

    Edit.. As riggerman1 pointed out to use 3g you must be activated on Virgin Mobile service. Thanks for catching that, Misread the post
     
    jeffj318 likes this.
  3. riggerman1

    riggerman1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    182
    76
    63
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    If you are trying to use grove ip instead of activating your phone, no it won't work. To be able to access the 3g network you need to pay for service. You will not be able to make calls or access the 3g network with out activating your phone through Virgin Mobile. You can still use it as a wifi only device without activating, though.
     
    jeffj318 and kwknott like this.
  4. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,520
    729
    253
  5. stephanos

    stephanos Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    46
    8
    16
    Ventura, CA
    Also, making GrooveIP calls via 3G will not yield very good call quality. This will vary by location, but I tried placing a call in an area with full reception and it was super choppy and sludgy.
     
    jeffj318 likes this.
  6. kangarooant

    kangarooant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    51
    3
    16
    PCA/HHA/Student
    Hopkins,mn
    I agree with stephanos doesnt work to great either unless its a good day.:banghead:
     
    jeffj318 likes this.
  7. forHeisrisen

    forHeisrisen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    10
    1
    36
    I also agree with the last two posts. Groove IP Lite works well when connected to WIFI but you need Groove IP (currently $4.99) for 3G connection. I got Groove IP but in my area there are many times that calls can't be made. Still looking for a solution to use the data only calls with 3G on Optimus V and Virgin Mobile. Sipdroid + Google Voice, Google Talk did not work for me. It still used minutes. Talkatone was suggested but the Play store says it is not compatible with the Optimus V. If anyone has another solution please post. Thanks.
     
  8. 350X

    350X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    ANyone got a quick run down on the settings for google voice and grove ip, so that the phone will ring on incoming calls to the google voice number?

    checked GV settings but calls are going right to voce mail.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...