1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Groove IP - unable to login

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by ramamosn, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. ramamosn

    ramamosn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I installed Groove IP on my Android. When I try to login to Groove IP using my google voice account it is not working for me. I entered the login name ( login is my yahoo account) and password. It keeps telling me "Failed to sign in to Google voice". I tried the same user name and password on the google voice website, it works fine.

    Any thought on this?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Swizz

    Swizz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    730
    95
    78
    Portland, OR
    Is google voice installed, and logged into, on your Android device?
     
  3. ramamosn

    ramamosn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Yes. I have google voice installed on the device.
     
  4. Swizz

    Swizz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    730
    95
    78
    Portland, OR
    From a web browser, go to your Google Voice page. Settings > Phones > Forwards Calls To > Google Chat .
     
  5. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    So you log in to your google account using a yahoo address? That doesn't seem right. You need to have a google account in order to use Google Voice.
     
  6. smurfOnE

    smurfOnE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    96
    2
    16
    You're unwittingly correct about what the OPs problem is.

    These days, if you create a new Google voice account first, without creating a gmail account, google does not even let you create a normal username. GV actually forces you to enter an email address. This email address need not be a gmail address. The email address can be anything that works, and then after verification it then becomes your GV username. So yes, someone going down this path would have a GV username like "bob@yahoo.com". It works when logging into google.com/voice from a web browser.

    But due to a software defect (or limitation) in Groove IP, "bob@yahoo.com" does not work, even though it's a correct GV username. The help documentation for Groove IP states that a gmail account must be created and linked to the GV account. What the help docs fail to state is that the gmail username must be used to login.

    So the solution: login to your GV account on the web (of course using your yahoo email address as a GV username), then click on the link that gives you other google services. Click on "gmail". Google will automatically sense that your GV account is not associated with any gmail account, and it will create one. You will be asked for your real name, username of choice, and security question to setup a gmail account. Yes, you need to do this, even if you have no intent of using gmail. After you complete that, Groove IP must be given your new google username, not your previous GV username that's represented as an email address.

    Both usernames will continue to work on the web, but Groove IP can only handle the proper gmail username (e.g. "bob").
     
  7. geolaun

    geolaun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have the same problem, but unable to sign on with gmail address or voice address.
     
  8. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    It doesn't matter, as long as you configured it somewhere. Google Voice has never been installed on my phone, and GrooVe IP works just fine on it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...