1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GSM tethering

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by averagewonder, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    So i am planing on upgrading my phone soon probably to the S4 if i get a metro branded phone. I have been told its a little difficult to tether with the new GSM phones because when you load a page you get a tmobile splash screen saying you dont have access if you are not paying for the tethering service. Is this true and if so is there a work around it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
  3. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    Thank you good Sir
     
  4. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Or you could buy a Nexus and not have to deal with all those Hotspot traps that Merto and T-Mo put on their Own phones... ;)

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  5. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    96
    53
    forest hill, fl
    that app may require rooting.
     
  6. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,345
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

  7. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    This did not work...does anyone know for a byod tmobile note 3? All i get is that i dont have the plan and that i have to upgrade..
     
  8. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    96
    53
    forest hill, fl
    When you said this did not work which method you are talking about? There are two apps mentioned above.
    Could you please mention:
    Are you rooted?
    What is the android version on the phone?
    Have you tried agent switcher?
     
  9. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Bruce I just seen on the main page ocala is officially in lte down there how is the nexus 4 treating you?
     
  10. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    downloading foxfi.. and im not rooted.. 4.3 galaxy note 3.. switched from tmob.
     
  11. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011


    I'm not activated yet Dee, just got it this afternoon and my sim won't arrive until tomorrow. I may not activate for another week or so anyway. I need to get the Spirit on The Bay and see how that goes.


    I have just played a bit with it setting it up on WiFi and honestly, I'm not seeing any major advantages over the Spirit yet. That's say a lot more about the Spirit than it does the N4 by the way. I am smiling big about the deal though, the N4 is only 3 months old and doesn't look 3 weeks old. The like new Ringke Fusion that came with it is also the case I'd have gotten myself if it didn't come with it. Also a great price with 2 day shipping even.


    Fuzzy sent me the link about Ocala's LTE too this afternoon on Faceplant.


    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  12. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Good Luck.

    Phones FROM T-Mo are the ones loaded with the Hotspot Joy Killer software. The work arounds seem to be happening slowly but surely but aren't all for sure things yet either.

    Interestingly enough, the Metro models of the same phones don't seem to have near the Hotspot defeating measures the same phone from T-Mo have.

    Frankly, you IMO are asking about this in the wrong area. You should be asking about it in the T-Mo or Note 3 sub-forums. The problem isn't a Metro problem it's a T-Mo problem THEY had put on your Note 3.


    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  13. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    So it's actually harder with a T-Mobile branded than a metro one.
     
  14. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    That is what I've read here about the same phones from both carriers.

    Of course that could change at any time Metro decides to send an update to your Metro branded phone changing that IF your phone gets carrier updates. [EDIT] Like they did on the LG Motion.

    Of course, with say a Nexus device, you can politely tell them in which bodily orifice you'd like them to stick ALL those updates. We don need na stankin' joy killin' carrier updates.

    [EDIT2] This actually speaks as well for the Spirit as it does the N4. Updates cost the carriers money to accomplish. They're most likely to do it when there's real user issues with the phone that really need fixing. With the Spirit, there hasn't really Been anything to fix. Therefore Metro would have to pay for the update Just to kill the native hotspot app which thankfully, they haven't seen the need to do (yet).

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  15. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    96
    53
    forest hill, fl
    i meant user agent switcher for your browser. to be honest it may get tricky if it is a t-mobile branded phone.:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...