1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GT-i5800 dosent navigate offline with Google maps 5.0

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by marko5x, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. marko5x

    marko5x Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i installed Google maps 5.0 on my GT-i5800 and if i have WiFi turned on it navigates perfectly, but without wifi it dosent.

    My friend has HTC legend and he can navigate offline, but i cant, what might be the problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. WilfMoralee

    WilfMoralee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    183
    24
    38
    I'm sure Gmaps has no facility to navigate offline. I did see an app in the market that claimed to add this feature, but don't recall the name, and never tested it.
    My works fine over 3G, which is available 99% when I'm driving so all works fine.
     
  3. marko5x

    marko5x Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Google maps 5.0 is made to navigate offline(without WiFi or 3g) it downloads maps nad navigate after them...
    Friend, i was talking about, has blocked 3g and has no wifi, but hes available to navigate.
     
  4. RyDeR`

    RyDeR` Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    36
    3
    16
    Same problem, I was never be able to use my GPS via satellite since I bought this phone. Anyone has a solution? GPS Booster doesn't work either.
     
  5. j0nb0y

    j0nb0y Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    34
    1
    16
    i think there is an option in application management to 'pre-fetch' tiles. i think this might be what you mean. maps 5.0 doesn't work off line in the traditional sense but can pre-fetch and store offline data in a cache so that when you make your journey you don't need to be on line.

    can anybody confirm this?
     
  6. WilfMoralee

    WilfMoralee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    183
    24
    38
    i can't find that option anywhere....
     
  7. j0nb0y

    j0nb0y Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    34
    1
    16
    it's in the app itself, so my mistake. but whilst in the app itself click on settings>>more>>cache settings there is a 'pre-fetch' even when not on wi-fi option. and also a clear cache. my cache is currently just over 1mb so i'm guessing that is the last journey i did.

    i think if you click that and configure your journey, even if you are not on wi-fi it will start to pre-fetch and cache your journey so that if you loose network coverage during your journey, you will be safe.

    obviously this is a different concept to traditional sat nav where the maps are pre-loaded, so for instance if you lost network coverage and wanted to program a new route once you'd reached your initial destination then you'd be stuck!
     

Share This Page

Loading...