1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] Best ad blocking no app needed for rooted phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tigatron, Jun 18, 2014.

  1. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    Figured I should share one of my favorite things about having a rooted android.

    Ad blocking via host file replacement.

    This is great as it doesn't use any extra resources other than space (11.4mb for May 20 2014 update) for the host file (the stock host file is tiny and does not have any ad blocking).

    Now using this is easier because we have a recovery to flash it with.

    There's 2 ways to do this.

    1)Flash threw recovery.
    You will need:
    * CWM recovery on your Volt.
    *The newest (MoaAB) Mother of All AD-BLOCKING zip file by BSDgeek_Jake of XDA get from here
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1916098
    (MoaAB is periodically updated so visit the page once in a while to check)

    Simply have the MoaAB zip file on your SD and boot into CWM recovery then flash the MoaAB zip. Once done restart and your all done; enjoy almost no ads.
    (No need to wipe data or anything as this just updates one file)

    2) The old fashion way.

    You will need :
    *RootExplorer or another similar app.
    *The newest (MoaAB) Mother of All AD-BLOCKING zip file by BSDgeek_Jake of XDA get from here
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1916098
    (MoaAN is periodically updated so visit the page once in a while to check)
    *A little patience and follow the instructions below.

    1) unzip the MoaAB.zip file you downloaded
    2) find the host file (open system folder then open etc folder)
    3) using root file app copy the host file to system/etc on your phone
    4) set permissions to rw-r--r-- (by tap and hold on the host file and select permissions)
    5) restart your phone and enjoy having almost no ads.

    Reference pic for host file permissions.
    [​IMG]

    If anybody needs better instructions or thinks there needs to be more detail let me know I'm so used to doing this stuff I might not have enough info for less experienced users.
     

    Advertisement

  2. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
  3. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    easier? well yea in a way... but easier isn't always the best.

    first off ad blocking apps use more phone resources and slow your phone down. that's counter point; we want to block ads to make the phone run smoother & faster.

    secondly some users have reported losing data (3g/4g) when using ad blocking apps (never heard of this with host file method).
    I'm not saying this is common but has happened on many devices.
     
  4. aguba

    aguba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    110
    56
    53
    AdBlock Pro does have an issue that causes people to not be able to send or receive mms messages. Luckily, AdAway doesn't have that problem. I'm lazy, so I prefer to let the app do the work for me.
     
  5. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    Lol then go lazy. I used to let an app do it until I did the host file ad blocking and found my phone was running better.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  6. aguba

    aguba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    110
    56
    53
    I'm all for increasing performance, so I might give it a shot eventually. Greenify typically gives me a good enough performance boost while still allowing me to have a bunch of apps (though I obviously can't greenify ad blocking apps).
     
  7. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
    @Tigatron, I think you don't understand how adaway works; it simply automates downloading and replacing your hosts file with a list of advertising websites. Basically, it automates the manual tasks you outlined. You run it once and then it gets out of the way, never using resources again.
     
    HasH_BrowN and EarlyMon like this.
  8. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    It also has a smaller list. And most people leave it installed taking extra space
     
  9. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
    So install adaway and point it to Moaab (http://adblock.mahakala.is) instead of the built in lists.
    And yes, you DO want to leave the app installed (all 2.8MB of it! <sarcasm intended>) so you can click the update button and pull down updated adblock lists on the fly without having to go through a manual process.

    Jeez, if you want to do it the hard, manual, error-prone way, be my guest. But I think the typical person would prefer to automate it.
     
    HasH_BrowN, EarlyMon and spocko like this.
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Adaway is an /etc/hosts list with an active updater and an easier install.

    Nothing lazy about it. Not a resource hog. :)
     
    HasH_BrowN, NeoZiggy and Bootlegger like this.
  11. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    To each their own. I think part of the reason why I like doing it the manual way is I liked including ad blocking without an app in the ROMs I made; also I'm a bit of a minimalist (34 apps in my app drawer only 8 are not system apps and I'm not done removing stock stuff I don't need.)
     
  12. chilito10k

    chilito10k Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    IT Technician @ Amazon
    Trying to copy the host file but I get EROFS(Read-only file system) now what. I'm using ES File explorer
     
  13. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    You have to set the system to r/w
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  14. magnux

    magnux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    70
    10
    18
    How do you do that without root?
     
  15. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    You can't
     
    HasH_BrowN, Tyler H and EarlyMon like this.
  16. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    The title says 'for rooted phone'
     
    HasH_BrowN, EarlyMon and donjuro like this.
  17. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    This is now easier than ever to use thanks to having working recovery.
    I'll update the OP but now just download and flash the ad blocking zip.
     
    donjuro and EarlyMon like this.
  18. IntroToLogic

    IntroToLogic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014

    Nov 29, 2014
    1
    2
    6
    AdAway does not run in background. It is an app that automates the steps you are carrying out in the option 2 using Root Explorer. AdAway is a Hosts File updater. You can either update those manually (using Root Explorer) or install AdAway which will pull the Hosts file from the sources that you specify (or the ones that come listed by default) and just add the values to your system hosts file. So
     
    HasH_BrowN and EarlyMon like this.
  19. spaceshipmax

    spaceshipmax Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012

    Nov 14, 2012
    37
    2
    36
    I have TWRP installed and its what I've used for my backups, etc. These directions are using clockwork mod so I didn't know where that left me?
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    If you're referring to the MOAB file, users in the XDA thread report it works with TWRP.

    Get zip package to internal storage while running.

    Boot into TWRP.

    Main menu, Backup - accept default of boot, system, and data.

    Install - select MOAB zip file you put on internal storage.

    If your phone fails to function, go back to TWRP, Restore - and restore the backup you made.

    (Follow that for all of your installs and you can't go far wrong.)

    If alternative desired and MOAB install fails - https://f-droid.org/repository/browse/?fdid=org.adaway

    And if MOAB protection still desired with AdAway -

     
    spaceshipmax likes this.
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Actually, as AdAway does fine merging and parsing lists, I added the http://adblock.mahakala.is/ to my existing AdAway sources.

    To do that: menu, Host sources, add with + button.
     
  22. obzerve

    obzerve Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    22
    0
    25
    Male
    Is there any noticeable performance decline after using AdAway or this MoaAb method?

    I notice on a couple places they claim your phone needs 1 gb of RAM FREE...our Volts are usually running only 600 mbs free though?
     
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    There's no such address as google.com on the Internet.

    That's a name you type in and you can read.

    Your computer or smartphone goes to a domain name server out on the Internet and gets the address for google.com and then goes to that address.

    All Internet access is like that.

    Except before going out for the name, it looks first at a local, reserved system file and sees if it already knows the address.

    Adaway and MoaAB simply fill that file with known site names that you don't want with an the address on your device reserved for network testing or itself. There's nothing there to answer so that's the end of that network request.

    Adaway and MoaAB don't block sites - they update a file from time to time and your normal, built-in networking simply doesn't go to any of those places.

    When visiting a site with ads or malware, your device ends up doing less processing, not more.

    There's absolutely no way that your phone is going to take a big hit on that and absolutely no way that you'll need 1 GB of ram.

    As per my post above yours, I'm using both sources via Adaway, I'm blocking over 125,000 sites, and the file I'm doing it with is only 4.6 MB.

    Less data, less network access, less battery usage all from one not-large file.

    Whoever said it took a gig of ram was clueless.
     
    HasH_BrowN and spocko like this.
  24. nappy_boy_official

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015

    Apr 26, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi

    Hi, thanks for the post. but i would like to omplain that i tried following the steps shown but no effect was taken after i rebooted my phone. please would you be able to guide me more further?
     
  25. chuck4100

    chuck4100 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015

    Mar 7, 2015
    6
    1
    16
    Male
    ads don't get blocked in apps with hosts file method from here or any other source.
     
    autonomous1 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...