1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide][Drivers][Root][Kernel][Recovery] How to install for the ZTE Awe

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cooldudezach, Dec 9, 2013.

  1. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Root Disclaimer

    ====================================
    I'm adding this, so that people don't get mad at me. This guide
    does need to be rewritten. I wrote it before active development on this device, and some of the methods have changed so that it is easier. I will rewrite it, but it will have to wait until next week, when my festivities and family engagements are over. Happy Holidays!
    ====================================

    (Taken from the "All Things Root Guide)
    Quick note / disclaimer: as always, you are ultimately responsible for any root-related activities on your phone.

    You should understand not only the benefits of rooting, but also any possible consequences (voided warranty, boot-loops, bricking, etc.) that might occur as a result of your root-related actions.

    I am not liable for any root actions you might undertake as a result of information used from this guide.

    Reading, researching, understanding, and carefully following the published steps and instructions can go a long way towards helping to make your rooting efforts a successful one.

    Install the drivers:

    Connect your phone to your computer via USB

    Windows:
    Linux (any variant that uses apt)
    For Mac / Other Linux Variants:
    Install Stuff:

    Download Root software:
    Boot into temporary CWM Recovery:
    Once you are in CWM Recovery, use the volume keys to navigate up/down and the power button to select options.

    NOTE: It is recommended that you perform a nandroid backup before installing any of these files.
    To perform a nandroid:
    Now to install stuff!
    Navigate back to the main menu.
    Select "install zip"

    To install Superuser:
    To install CWM Recovery:
    To install Overclocked Kernel:
    If you wish to use Cydia Impactor to root, and install Superuser from the Play store:


     

    Advertisement

  2. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    Each time I go into recovery (holding volume down, and power on), I get into android recovery which is completely different from CWM recovery screen.

    I can never reach the CWM recovery unless if it's from temporary fastboot.

    Lastly OC kernel either isn't install or not working :( help!

    PS: each time it says installation complete.
     
  3. tli

    tli Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    263
    93
    53
    @cooldudezach, thanks for the guide! Good job!

    Before sideloading and rooting, would probably be a good opportunity to do a Nandroid backup of the phone's stock setup... just in case. ;)
     
  4. JoshuaAwe

    JoshuaAwe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013

    Nov 24, 2013
    33
    10
    28
    Male
    student
    Missouri

    I had to enable debugging mode before it could root my phone with Cydia Impactor.
     
  5. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Oh right! Thanks! That's the first thing I do when I get a new phone/install a new ROM, so I didn't even think about it.
     
  6. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Probably a good idea. I'll add it to the guide.

    I DO have a completely stock CWM image I will be unploading and adding to this guide as well, for those who want a true stock image.
    It has the stock recovery, boot, and system. It's in the pre-activated state fresh after a factory reset, which was annoying to get in the proper order. If I had known how to get fastboot without android, it would have been tons better. :rolleyes:
     
  7. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Are you actually installing CWM recovery, or opening it via fastboot? To install it permanently, you still have to sideload the CWM zip file while in the temporary CWM.

    As far as the kernel goes, when you install it, do you get any errors? Did you install the Superuser zip file as well? I'm not sure if you can change the CPU values without root.
     
  8. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    no errors, I use a different method to root but I try again following the guide to the T, and even with the new kernel no overclock options.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/hatdlnfvvsbakw4/Screenshot_2013-12-10-16-08-26.png
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/34lbe308gqgzqmq/Screenshot_2013-12-10-16-06-47.png

    PS not sure why picture aren't displaying but it just - is the Kernel version name suppose to be different?

    Hold downing the volume down button opens another "android recovery" that doesn't allow me to sideload, so I sideload it through the temporary CWM.

    MAX GPU is still 400 :)
     
  9. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    It looks like you still have the old kernel, for whatever reason. The first line of the kernel version should be something like this: "3.4.0-rb3-gf607cb8-dirty".

    While you were in fastboot, did you do "oem unlock"? If you install the zip from recovery, it should replace the boot image. However, I think the phone has a backup system in case you clobber the boot partitions if it doesn't boot: It replaces the existing boot.img with a copy of the stock boot.img. It did this to me when I flashed a messed up boot.img, and it booted normally with the old boot.img. This could be what's happening here.
     
  10. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    I didn't but I can try that,

    Do a oem unlock? How do I know if it's successful or not.


    c:\Android>adb reboot-bootloader

    c:\Android>fastboot oem unlock
    ...
    OKAY [ 0.002s]
    finished. total time: 0.002s

    c:\Android>fastboot oem


    c:\Android>fastboot oem get-bootinfo
    ...

    it doesn't give me any results but kernel didn't says the same.

    What should i do here :'(?
     
  11. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Did you try installing the kernel after "oem unlock"?
     
  12. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    yes :)! no luck

    c:\Android>fastboot oem get-bootinfo
    ...

    nothing shows up afterwards :'( did i brick my bootloader

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\S>cd C:\android\

    C:\Android>fastboot flash boot boot.img
    sending 'boot' (6762 KB)...
    OKAY [ 0.426s]
    writing 'boot'...


    nothing works on this fastboot ><, all the commands i try fastboot oem ? doesn't give anything back.
     
  13. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Those fastboot commands do not work on our device, for whatever reason. Fastboot flash just sits at writing 'boot'. I've let it sit for an hour once, and it did nothing.

    I'm still stumped why the kernel isn't flashing. Are you able to flash the Superuser and CWM zips? Do you get any errors on the device when you install them?
     
  14. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    So far, superuser.zip flashed just fine, and it updated.

    CWM.zip I can only fastboot it temporary, I just installing it multiple times but it boots up with the android system recovery (3e) instead of CWM :(.

    There's no error

    it says in the end

    Flashing the kernel

    * The end of installation *
    * Have fun *

    Funny thing is I just install rom manager and it detects CWM 6.0.3.7
     
  15. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Here's something to try:
    After you get into temp CWM recovery, go to the option that says something like "mounts and storage". Choose the option to format /boot before the kernel install and format /recovery before the CWM install. let me know if that works.
     
  16. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    There's only
    format /cache
    format /data
    format /sdcard
    format /system
    format /sdcardata
    format /carrier
     
  17. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Derp, of course there is. I'd have known that if I opened CWM. Try this zip and let me know if it works at all.

    I changed how it writes the recovery image.
    https://app.box.com/s/ftcoy2maz8j25q0n5om1
     
  18. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    Yes! when I hold down the recovery volume down button when booting it goes into CWM!

    No luck on straight side loading the kernel but I'll try what you suggest above and report back.

    The kernel still doesn't sideload directly into the phone though, try multiple times.


    ps: I swear there's a delay on androidforums.com, whenever someone replys or I reply it takes forever to update like 5 minutes
     
  19. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    GREAT! I'm still not sure why it wasn't working before. Did you redownload it at all?

    When me and rbheromax get a couple more things figured out, we'll have a zip out that uses the same way I did to write the image. Should be out tomorrow night hopefully, but probably won't have GPU overclock. It's not working as it should :(
     
  20. ayi

    ayi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013

    Dec 10, 2013
    62
    1
    16
    Awesome :), back to studying for finals tomorrow :'(. How are you writing the image differently this time?
     
  21. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Rather than use this:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. package_extract_file("recovery.img", "/tmp/recovery.img");
    3. write_raw_image("/tmp/boot.img", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/recovery");
    4. delete("/tmp/boot.img")
    5.  
    I'm using this:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. package_extract_file("recovery.img", "/tmp/recovery.img");
    3. run_program("/sbin/busybox", "dd", "if=/dev/zero", "of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/recovery");
    4. run_program("/sbin/busybox", "dd", "if=/tmp/recovery.img", "of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/recovery");
    5. delete("/tmp/boot.img")
    6.  
    It takes a little longer for it to flash, since it zeros out the partition first before writing. On the other hand, that ensures there isn't anything lingering from what was there before.
     
    chrisnunya74gmailcom likes this.
  22. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    I'm also going to be switching my files over to Dev-Host, so people will have md5 hashes they can check against.
     
    chrisnunya74gmailcom likes this.
  23. dragonhart6505

    dragonhart6505 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012

    Feb 4, 2012
    1,101
    346
    173
    have flashed the kernel, but its still the same. sideload and cwm does nothing. your v2 kernel appears to be down, so cant test that one. you say youve successfully oc'd with this kernel, but how exactly? noone else appears to be able to flash it. help please?
     
  24. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    If you read through the last few posts, you'll see that the zips apparently don't write properly, and I'm changing how the zip writes the image, which did write it successfully. Just hang tight a little bit longer. :)

    Edit:
    adb sideload will only work when you select the option in CWM to start the sideload. Before that, adb sideload should just report 'closed'. It also will not work unless you type it like "adb sideload filename.ext". If it really isn't working, then I'm not sure what's up.
     
  25. dragonhart6505

    dragonhart6505 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012

    Feb 4, 2012
    1,101
    346
    173
    Ok gonna keep track of the kernel thread and help test the flashes. Also found out I had an older adb version, got the new one from the sdk. Thanks for your work! Can't wait til it works
     
  26. nuttyriv3r

    nuttyriv3r Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    6
    0
    15
    Well how do I get root if this guide says I have to boot into temp cwm? Cydia Impactor gives "signature bugs unavailable," so I can't use that.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...