1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GUIDE: From stock 1.5 to the latest root 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GrdLock, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. gueeds23

    gueeds23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Did a reboot and now I'm good
     

    Advertisement

  2. dandaman96

    dandaman96 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    12
    1
    36
    flashed the roms, everything went great. problem now is w/ my computer (Vista). it doesn't recognize the drivers. will not find the drivers in the androidSDK/usb_driver folder. If I force it to install the inf in that folder, I can get an $adk shell, but its obvious there is something wrong w/ the driver (displayed text is garbled).

    So, where do I find the correct usb driver for 2.1?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ok, hopped on the irc. looks like this is due to color support. aliasing ls w/:
    su
    alias ls="ls --color=never"
    fixes the issue.

    from what I could tell reading the thread on the irc, an updated driver is needed. not sure if one is available though. any input?
     
  3. JohnnyThumbz

    JohnnyThumbz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    61
    2
    36
    AZ
    i'm having the same issue with vista, the drivers just wont show up... not tight.
     
  4. dandaman96

    dandaman96 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    12
    1
    36
    as far as the drivers not showing up... I had to go
    update drivers
    browse my computer for driver software
    let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    have disk

    then point to the inf file inside the usb_driver directory. that installed it. then, once installed, I needed the alias to the ls command, as mentioned above. now, I'm running smoothly again, with the exception that I have to enter the alias every time I plug the phone in.
     
    JohnnyThumbz likes this.
  5. Conap

    Conap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    145
    38
    43
    I am also running windows vista...had drivers already installed from using easytether so when i did the update it said drivers were already up to date and I have had no problems and have been able to even go in and delete a couple system apps so its working right so if nothing else you could try downloading the easytether drivers from their website but I'm still pretty new to this but don't think it would hurt anything to try installing that...
     
    JohnnyThumbz likes this.
  6. acidbath5546

    acidbath5546 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    575
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Made thread Sticky...Nice Tutorial Grdlock.

    Cheers.
     
  7. rican408

    rican408 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    51
    2
    36
    I have such a problem with adb. Is it possible to just run the same commands in terminal emulator?
     
  8. mentorkyrom

    mentorkyrom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
  9. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    rican408, mostly yes.

    you don't need to put 'adb' before anything.

    just open the app, then 'su', then do what you need to do.
     
  10. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    The problem will be pushing files to the SD card. if they're not already on your phone, you won't have much luck pushing them onto your phone.

    Recovery.img and some of the others can be right on your root, where you're pushing them anyway.

    But I'd use adb while settings things up if possible anyway.
     
  11. rican408

    rican408 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    51
    2
    36
    So what im trying to do is get recovery img going. Im on 2.1a rooted. So do i just put the recovery img on the sd card then use emulator to push to the phone? I imagine the commands might be slightly different then? Ive done all this to my droid but always had a problem with adb.....
     
  12. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    ive tried everything...everything is installed and i cant figure out what exactly to type but this is what i get when i open my command...

    cd\
    c: \androidsdk\tools
    adb.........and this is what i get right as i hit enter..
    adb is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file..........

    if anyone can help me it would be greatly apreciated im excited to download this rom
    !!!
     
  13. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    cd..
    Cd..
    Cd..
    Cd androidsdk\tools\
    adb shell
    su
     
  14. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    ok just to be sure we are talking about the computers command....but i did what u posted and right as i typed adb shell i got the same error... also i tried doing this on my terminal emulator on my phone and heres what i get
    $ $cd
    cd: HOME NOT SET
    $ Cd
    Cd:permission denied
    $ Cd
    Cd:permission denied
    $ Cd androidsdk\tools\
    >adb shell
    $Cd:permission denied
    $ su
    #


    thats it when i type in terminal emulator but on my regular pc command i get same error as my first error we spoke about with not an internal or external command i run on windows 7 if that helps any
     
  15. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    sorry those are supposed to be colons i dont know how the fu** those came up lol
     
  16. Philosophre

    Philosophre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    105
    2
    36
    California
    I like to thank you for the easy directions. People who ask questions should be the people who shouldn't be trying this.
     
  17. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    From terminal emulator, you don't need adb.

    But you won't easily be able to push files to your phone from your computer without it. adb = Android Debug Bridge, referring to the bridge between your computer and phone, for debugging and development use.

    I was giving you commands to run from Start > Run on your computer.

    And when I said cd \android-sdk-windows\tools, that was assuming you installed the android-sdk-windows folder on your C: drive, and not in some folder somewhere.
     
  18. GrdLock

    GrdLock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    405
    188
    68
    Texas
    **UPDATE (3/24/10) Now includes 2.1 Official kernel**

    I've put together an all-in-one package. This package includes batch scripts to automate most of the tasks in this guide. If you aren't too comfortable with the command prompt, you might want to try this option. Here is the README file in the package to see everything it will do:
    Code (Text):
    1. These are automated scripts to root your Eris phone with Android 1.5 (NOT 2.1 LEAK!!!!!)
    2.  
    3. YOU NEED THE ANDROID SDK IN ORDER FOR THIS TO WORK!
    4. If you don't have the SDK working, visit guide on the forums for instructions.
    5.  
    6. INSTRUCTIONS:
    7. Unzip this file to your \tools\ directory of your Android SDK. Then run one of the following files:
    8.  
    9. install_root.bat
    10. ------------------------
    11. This script will do the following:
    12.     1) Install the root image onto your phone
    13.     2) Install the recovery partition onto your phone
    14.     3) Install the current rom using the recovery partition
    15.  
    16. install_extras.bat
    17. ------------------------
    18. This script will do the following:
    19.     1) Install live wallpapers
    20.     2) Install the Nexus Launcher
    21.     3) Install the Nexus photo gallery
    22.     4) Remove HTC Lockscreen
    23.     5) Install wireless tethering
    24.    
    25. NOTE!
    26. ------------------------
    27.     1) NOT ALL LIVE WALLPAPERS YOU FIND IN THE MARKET WILL WORK!
    28.     2) You cannot use the Nexus photo gallery when in the Nexus Launcher, it will crash
    29.  
    30. These scripts were put together by GrdLock.
    31. Credit for all of the included files goes to ivan, amon, jcase, and everyone else
    32. who chipped in!
    You can download the all in one root script here: http://www.multiupload.com/NBWW3PTEH8
    Instructions: Unzip the file into your \tools\ directory of your Android SDK. Then run install_root.bat, and follow the options in order.
     
    Zbych and ussj4brolli like this.
  19. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    So what your saying is try this method if you already rooted but can't figure the command promt correct? I've set up the sdk and all but when I pull my command prompted up on my computer this is what i get..
    Cd\
    Cd:\ Androidsdk\tools\
    Adb devices...and this happens
    'Adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command. Operable or batch file......

    If anyone can help me it would be greatly apreciated..I'm running Windows 7 and have installed the HTC drivers from the HTC website have folllowed all instructions and don't kno what to do cuz of my command prompt. I'm even willing to pay someone to get me threw this lol :).......THX
     
  20. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    So what your saying is try this method if you already rooted but can't figure the command promt correct? I've set up the sdk and all but when I pull my command prompted up on my computer this is what i get..
    Cd\
    Cd:\ Androidsdk\tools\
    Adb devices...and this happens
    'Adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command. Operable or batch file......

    If anyone can help me it would be greatly apreciated..I'm running Windows 7 and have installed the HTC drivers from the HTC website have folllowed all instructions and don't kno what to do cuz of my command prompt. I'm even willing to pay someone to get me threw this lol :).......THX
     
  21. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
  22. TheDroidDoes

    TheDroidDoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    92
    4
    16
  23. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    813
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    813
    111
    93
    Because of this guide, I will now be jumping ship. Thank you!!!!!!!
     
  24. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    813
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    813
    111
    93
    Trying to run the commands for the image (adb push recovery.img /sdcard ) and I get the error failed to copy img to img: Read-only file system

    Any ideas? Thanks guys. So far I am just going step by step as in teh guide
     
  25. GrdLock

    GrdLock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    405
    188
    68
    Texas
    Is your sdcard mounted on your computer? If so, unmount it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...