1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Mods [Guide]How to flash a Nexus Factory Image manually.

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by jhawkkw, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,277
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,277
    23,542
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    :( yeah, it consistently is telling you that the fastboot flashing operations are failing ("FAILED..."), so the bootloader is not actually unlocked...

    It's also not a case of needing the "OEM Unlocking" set to enabled in the Settings -> Developer options menu since the Nexus 5 (hammerhead) does not have that option or restriction like many of the newer devices do.

    Not sure where to have you go from here...we've seen this before on a few Nexus 5 and 7's, too, unfortunately...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Albert Wang

    Albert Wang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016

    Jul 8, 2016
    12
    8
    26
    Male
    Well, thank you for the suggestions anyway! I guess it's time to start looking into a new phone then.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. Albert Wang

    Albert Wang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016

    Jul 8, 2016
    12
    8
    26
    Male
    Actually, I have one last question. If I remove the usb cable from the computer midway from the factory reset, the device will be hard bricked right? Sorry if this is annoying, I just need confirmation.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,277
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,277
    23,542
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Oh, I'm not sure that would be the case, Albert...once you initiate the factory reset, I'm guessing it's just running a format and/or mass delete in the background (or the foreground if you're doing it from the stock recovery), so I'm not sure that would make any difference (I've never heard that, so that's mostly why I say that).
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    35,689
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    35,689
    32,383
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Before you totally give up @Albert Wang , give Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit a try. If you had a version of Marshmallow on your phone prior to this happening, there's an extra step needed to unlock the bootloader under developer options. If you don't enable "allow OEM unlocking" then the OEM unlock will appear to succeed from fastboot but when you restart, it will be locked again. There has been some success with Wug's although it's not guaranteed (and I think the N5 in particular has some issues).

    There is one final option where Google has zipped up the full rom as a packaged OTA updates that you could apply through recovery.

    https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/ota

    This one I do believe works in your situtation.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  6. Alfar61

    Alfar61 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016

    Jul 9, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    @lunatic59 Hello, it keeps logging me out with my facebook account, so I had to connect via twitter. Does USB debugging HAVE to be enabled? If so, is USB debugging automatically disabled for phones?
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,277
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,277
    23,542
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hey Luna, I have 6.0.1 on an old N5 and I do not have the "OEM unlocking" option in my Developer Settings, so I'm not sure that's an option for the N5?

    Also, Albert's device isn't booting properly for him to enable that or even enable USB debugging for the block-mode OTA to work :(.
     
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,277
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,277
    23,542
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Oh, is this Albert again/too? :p (we might have to get this account merged with your other one if so...no biggie, just let us know).

    Yes, USB debugging does not come automatically enabled for Android devices--you must explicitly enable it.
     
  9. Alfar61

    Alfar61 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016

    Jul 9, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Yes it is :). In other news, a friend of mine told me about a command called "fastboot flashing unlock" that unlocked his bootloader, would that apply in my case? Or is it time to say goodbye to my beloved phone :(
     
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,277
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,277
    23,542
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    That command string (fastboot flashing unlock) doesn't work on/for my version of the fastboot utility, so I'm not sure what is going on with that :p.

    My family has five Nexus 5's, with three still in daily use, one for my testing, and one that's on-the-shelf waiting to be wiped. They're great devices (IMO) so I know what you mean above being beloved :).

    Hang on to it, though, in case we figure something magical out to fix it...there's always hope!
     
  11. bsullins

    bsullins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013

    Sep 25, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I've been down the rabbit hole with this a few times and here I'm stuck with a Nexus 7 WiFi that is stuck in the "No Command" error on boot. I went through this tutorial and everything worked except flashing the recovery image. I've got a PC and tried WUG but to no avail since it appears my device won't connect through ADB. Thoughts on what steps I could take next?


    Code (Text):
    1. c:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>fastboot flash recover recovery.img
    2. target didn't report max-download-size
    3. sending 'recover' (5682 KB)...
    4. OKAY [  0.223s]
    5. writing 'recover'...
    6. FAILED (remote: partition table doesn't exist)
    7. finished. total time: 0.246s
     
  12. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,326
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,326
    8,539
    1,053
    Drafter
    Looks like you typed the command wrong: fastboot flash recover recovery.img

    Should be: fastboot flash recovery recovery.img


    Though I'm a little confused by the output because it seems like it accepted the command and attempted to write the recovery. Regardless, try again, but that's kinda weird.
     
    codesplice, lunatic59 and scary alien like this.
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,277
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,277
    23,542
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    It looks like the "server side" of fastboot (i.e., the part that's on the N7) reported back that it doesn't know what the "recover" partition is (because it's actually "recovery") and that's what generated the "partition table doesn't exist") failure message.

    So you were spot-on, Brian that it's very likely just the "recover" typo that should have been "recovery" (i.e., fastboot flash recovery recovery.img).

    :)
     
    Brian706, codesplice and lunatic59 like this.
  14. Ro Smith

    Ro Smith Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016

    Oct 20, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi, I followed these instructions and they worked fine with my Nexus 7 (2012) so I offered to do the same to my son-in-laws some months later.

    Everything was going fine I had completed step 1 through to 8 OK then I tried to load the Bootloader and hit problems.
    I eventually loaded bootloader-grouper-4.23 which copied OK and ran OK.

    I then had to go out so I powered down the Nexus 7 (2012) now I can't get it to power up although I know it was fully charged before I started.

    I've tried all the recommended power up options, holding the button for 30-60 seconds, holding volume up and power button & holding volume down and power button.

    Have I "bricked" the device?
     
  15. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,579
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,579
    9,859
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Hi @Ro Smith,

    I know you say you tried holding the power button for 30+ seconds... did you try that with it connected to a charger?

    It may also be worthwhile to leave it on charge overnight just to see if that does anything for you.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  16. Ro Smith

    Ro Smith Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016

    Oct 20, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Thanks for replying, yes I have tried that and just for good measure I put it on charge all night and tried again this moring to no avail. I guess it's now "spares".
     
  17. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,579
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,579
    9,859
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Yeah, unfortunately there's not a lot that we can do for a device which won't power on at all. :(
     
    lunatic59 and scary alien like this.
  18. ssk_ssk

    ssk_ssk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017

    Jul 31, 2017
    1
    1
    15
    Male
    AWESOME

    this link finally helped me to have KITKAT on my nexus 7
    thanks a lot

    though I got stuck at the bootloader part due to wrong names format given
    please remove the " " for flash boot loader step .. I think
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  19. Aoi v1

    Aoi v1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018

    Apr 7, 2018
    3
    0
    5
    Hi everyone, I have a Nexus 7 2013 wifi, it's stuck on google logo. I've had it for more than 3 years like this.

    When trying "fastboot -w update blabla", I get an error while writing system. I tried to do it manually, and it says "FAILED (remote: Bogus size and sparse chunk header)".

    I've never heard a proper explanation about that error, though I finally found a way to do it manually: "fastboot flash -S 512M system system.img" and it actually proceeds with writing the system img with no errors whatsoever! But with no different result :( my Nexus is still bricked, at google logo. I've let the device seat for good 20 minutes, but I've seen videos of people doing this and their devices take less than 30 seconds to boot after completing this guide.

    Why is it so after I followed each and every step of this guide with no error?

    Any help is greatly appreciated
     
  20. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,326
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,326
    8,539
    1,053
    Drafter
    My best guess would be a hardware failure. If that's the case, reflashing the firmware won't save it. If you successfully completed the steps and it still won't boot, hardware failure is my best guess.

    Is there any chance you flashed the incorrect firmware?
     
    Jfalls63 and codesplice like this.
  21. Aoi v1

    Aoi v1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018

    Apr 7, 2018
    3
    0
    5
    I've got tons of names on my head, please remind me, by firmware you mean stock image? I read that Jellybean 4.2.2 was quite a great version to run on fresh devices, so I looked for it and discovered the Nexus 7 was the first device to come with 4.3 :( anyways, I just flashed stock 4.3, flash_all.bat runs smoothly, but no, I'm now stuck on a boot loop.

    In this thread from XDA, they explain Nexus 7 devices come with faulty Kingston storage. I dissassembled mine, it's not a Kingston. And they say if I can make it to fastboot, then my device should be able to recover, but I haven't been able to do so :/
     
  22. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,579
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,579
    9,859
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Hardware failures manifest in a variety of different ways. There's no easy guide to diagnosing such issues. Just because you can get to fastboot doesn't always mean that the hardware is fine. There were a huge number of Nexus 5X and 6P devices affected by bootloops. They were able to get into fastboot and reflash a factory image (assuming the OEM Unlocking option was enabled), but would inevitably bootloop again. The cause came down to cracks in the soldering joints for the SoC which only became a problem when the "big" CPU cores were working hard and generating heat. That's very different hardware, of course, but I mention it to illustrate that accessing the bootloader doesn't rule out hardware problems.

    Based on what you've described I would bet on a flash storage failure. You should not have to pass extra arguments in order to flash /system - the fact that you had to strongly suggests there is something wrong. And while you were able to work around the issue preventing the file system from being imaged you can't work around the underlying problem(s) causing the bootloop.
     
  23. Aoi v1

    Aoi v1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018

    Apr 7, 2018
    3
    0
    5
    whoa, sounds like a solid answer. Actually, I have two boot loop stuck tablets, and both stopped working while playing PvZ2. I do remember the devices would go extremely hot while playing, so maybe that caused the desoldering problem. Do you think it would fix the problem if I apply enough heat to the eMMC for it to solder back in place again? Not like I'm intending to desolder it completely, just heat it enough for the spots to connect again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...