1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Mods [Guide]How to flash a Nexus Factory Image manually.

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by jhawkkw, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You can skip to step 11.

    If you have custom recovery like CWM or TWRP then you can flash it directly on the phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. den75

    den75 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 23, 2014

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    I do all the tuto with the latest version but always the same thing .

    the phone bootsto the animation but after nothing happen...

    Rahhhhhhhhh :(
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you've completed all the steps without any error messages, when you reboot how long do you wait? Reflashing a phone will make it recompile all the stock apps into the cache. This could take up to 15 minutes. If it sits there only for a minute or two before you reboot, you might not be waiting long enough.

    However, if you waited a while and it's still stuck, failure to boot could be an indication that you have a hardware failure somewhere.
     
  4. jrwild99

    jrwild99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Hi i'm getting error here in step 9 it says Failed <REMOTE: flash write failure>
    here is my input fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz30d or fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz30d.img

    please help me.
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you get a flash write failure, then fastboot is finding the file and attempting to flash it, so your commands are correct. There could be a few things that could be interfering. First you could have a corrupt bootloader.img file. Try re-downloading it. Another possibility is that you have your phone connected to your PC through a USB 3.0 port. There has been some strangeness trying to flash using USB 3.0, so if possible use a USB 2.0 port. You might also try a different cable, although my Nexus phones have been nowhere near as fussy as my Samsung phones when it comes to cables.

    Finally, it could be a hardware fault, but we won't go there, because that's "send it in for service" time.

    Good Luck!
     
  6. jrwild99

    jrwild99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Thank you for your fast reply...Currently I am using USB 2.0 port and I re-downloaded 3 times and used different cable and the error still persist. Please help me.
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,212
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,212
    9,224
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Hi jrwild99,

    Are you able to flash any of the file systems (recovery, for instance) or do they all fail with the same error?
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Assuming your phone is set properly (Like i said, if it finds the file and attempts to flash, then i would say it is.) The easiest method would be to use one of the toolkits to automate it for you. They might even be able to provide more detail on the error should it fail again.

    Wug's toolkit.
    Android Unified Toolkit.
     
  9. jrwild99

    jrwild99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Yes it is, I can't flash any files in my phone. what are the steps on how fixing my phone? please help

    ok thnx I will try these tools, thank you so much will update here once I have the output.
     
  10. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    If it's failing to flash everything, it means your bootloader is still locked, or there's some sort of hardware issue.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If the bootloader were locked, wouldn't it fail to *begin* the flash process? I take it the flash process starts but fails to complete. :dontknow:

    I was hoping it wasn't going to be a hardware issue. :eek:
     
  12. jrwild99

    jrwild99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    My phone is already unlocked when im trying to flash the bootloader.

    My observation is when I use the fastbood oem unlocked then restart bootloader it will go back to locked mode. How to fix this issue?
     
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    When you put your phone into fastboot mode you should see this ...

    [​IMG]

    If it says "locked" then your bootloader in not unlocked and flashing will fail. The proper command is
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot oem unlock
     
  14. jrwild99

    jrwild99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    My steps are correct but when I am trying to flash the bootloader it keeps failing to flash... I done it correctly from Step 1 to step 8 and failed to step 9.
     
  15. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Try repeating step 8 and then try one of the toolkits to flash the stock bootloader. They will get the files from known repositories. If it still fails to flash at this point, I can only assume there is something wrong with your hardware.
     
  16. edward makundi

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014

    Aug 24, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    What will be the name of bootloader in section nine because as on my side it cannot open
     
  17. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,100
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,100
    27,852
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The specific file name of the bootloader will depend on which nexus device and which firmware you are trying to flash. If you let us know which nexus device you have. we can offer more detailed assistance.
     
    codesplice and edward makundi like this.
  18. edward makundi

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014

    Aug 24, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Owky am using galaxy nexus with yakju international
    Product name -tuna
    Bootloader version-primekk15
     
  19. rachid

    rachid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    nexus 4, tried to revert to stock. but for some reason failed at step 11, couldn't flash the system bundle, so i extracted it and flashed them one by one, system-boot- recovery, the cache.img was missing as well as userdata.img, so i skipped these steps and rebooted unfortunately didn't go past the animation logo. booted into recovery the laying little android was there nothing else no options. waiting for any suggestions. thanks.
     
  20. rachid

    rachid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    i found userdata image but no cache image . can someone plz tell where to get it. and why it always fails at step 11, it says error: failed to load "image': no error.
    i erased everything and did it over with same outcome stuck in boot animation.
    i did everything as written in tuto. really driving me nuts. any help!!!

    reedit: i got it!!!
    for those confronted with the same problem, after flashing system, boot and recovery enter the command: "fastboot format cache", instead of flash cache.img. then reboot, worked like a charm.
     
    scary alien and codesplice like this.
  21. litesport

    litesport Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015

    Jan 14, 2015
    2
    0
    5
    Things have gone horribly wrong for me. When I got to step 9, it didn't flash the new bootloader and now I think I have a brick. Nexus won't start, i keep seeing booting failed error.
    Please help, i am new too this so not sure what to do and don't want to make things worse.
    Thanks.
     
  22. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    The latest Lollipop from the Google Nexus Factory Images have included a bat file for windows installs and a couple of Linux shell scripts one installs all and the other just the base. Now all you really have to do is extract the download hook up the device and run the script. (Make sure you are root / admin on the computer as some systems require it)
     
    codesplice likes this.
  23. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,212
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,212
    9,224
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Protip: there's a line in the flash-all.bat script (or the *nix equivalent) that includes fastboot update -w somethingsomething.zip. That "-w" means "wipe". You can edit the script to just remove the "-w" if you don't want to fully erase the userdata (/data) partition (so fastboot update somethingsomething.zip instead). :thumbsupdroid:
     
  24. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    good catch I didn't think of that I just do it anymore lol
     
  25. redkulat89

    redkulat89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2015

    May 29, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Does the Flash-All method for Lollipop bypass all of the steps you posted?

    https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images
     

Share This Page

Loading...