1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

[Guide]How to flash a Nexus Factory Image manually.

Discussion in 'Android System Mods, Scripts and Hacks' started by jhawkkw, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. clh68clh

    clh68clh New Member
    5

    Jun 21, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Ok
     

    Advertisement

  2. N4than

    N4than New Member
    5

    Jul 10, 2015
    2
    0
    5
    Hello I am attempting to reflash a Nexus 10 tablet with the firmware you have linked to in the OP, also using fastboot software

    However I have two problems :

    Step 9 fastboot flash bootloader "name of bootloader" - what is the name of the bootloader ?!

    Step 11 fastboot -w update "name of zip file"

    My problem with step 11 is that that the current firmware is a .tgz file which perhaps has missing componenets for fastboot ??

    C:\Users\ADMIN1\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot -w update mantaray-lmy47v-factory-91
    a865a6.zip
    archive does not contain 'android-info.txt'
    archive does not contain 'android-product.txt'
    error: update package has no android-info.txt or android-product.txt


    Pointing it to the lone extracted .tgz doens't help neither :

    C:\Users\ADMIN1\Downloads\fastboot>fastboot -w update mantaray-lmy47v-factory-91
    a865a6.tgz
    EOCD not found, not Zip
    error: failed to access zipdata in 'q⌂Éα~╝╫'ìß╞¢⌐ƒnQ→öîî♀ú╝L(½≤63█á♠≡M,¬µ[‼


    Please advise :(
     
  3. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    1,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It looks like everything might not be fully extracted. When fully extracted you should have a .zip file, a .img file, and a couple of script files (.bat, .sh). Try extracting the tgz file further using 7-zip or winwar and see if that produces the necessary files.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  4. N4than

    N4than New Member
    5

    Jul 10, 2015
    2
    0
    5
    all sorted now - just had to carefully retrace my steps

    Thankyou for your guide :)
     
    #104 N4than, Jul 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2015
  5. jjaylewin

    jjaylewin New Member
    15

    Aug 4, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Nevermind, fixed.
     
  6. redkulat89

    redkulat89 New Member
    15

    May 29, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    What did you end up doing?
     
  7. yaksh013

    yaksh013 New Member
    15

    Aug 10, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Hello I am on step 9, I have a nexus 6 and am wondering what the boot loader name is please HELP! and also what is the radio name. Are these files I need to download or am I missing something else??
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,178
    26,445
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It should be part of the firmware file you got.

    Nexus stock images are here.

    Which firmware did you download? The bootloader and radio files will look something like this:
    But those are specifically for LMY47V, so if that's not the version you're flashing, the filenames will be a little different.
     
    argedion and codesplice like this.
  9. Crouchgod

    Crouchgod New Member
    5

    Aug 14, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I tried to extract the file of the nexus 5, and there is only one file when extracting.. i'm using 7zip.I also tried winrar.
    Am i doing something wrong? ( probably )

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    #109 Crouchgod, Aug 14, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
  10. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    853

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,289
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Just downloaded the factory image and these are the files I have in it

    [​IMG]

    it is a tgz compressed file and I use Linux so don't know if its a windows thing or not.
    the download size should be 579megs
     
    codesplice likes this.
  11. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    1,063

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,037
    8,947
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Hi @Crouchgod and welcome to AF :)

    .tgz (also known as .tar.gz) is really two layers of compression archivalness. The outer shell is essentially treated like a .zip. Once you extract it, you get a .tar file (tarball - which isn't technically compressed, but it just combines all the files into a single file). You'll need to extract the .tar file to get the files shown in @argedion's screenshot.

    Using 7-zip, just right-click -> 7-zip -> Extract (yes, again).
     
    argedion and lunatic59 like this.
  12. nicova

    nicova New Member
    15

    Aug 22, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    information is useful for me thanks for sharing it........
     
  13. dirlonmercy

    dirlonmercy New Member
    5

    Aug 30, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    HELP PLEASE..... i'm stock at 11 every time i try to flash the system it shows me this.. "error cannot load system.img"
     
  14. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    853

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,289
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Some more information would be nice. Which image are you trying to flash? Windows or Linux? You running the bat/bash file or manually typing?
     
  15. stuckingradschool

    stuckingradschool New Member
    15

    Sep 3, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Hi, I'm having the same issue on a Nexus 5 LG.

    It was running fine yesterday morning. In the evening it went into a boot loop. I first tried taking out the battery, while at the same time pressing the ON button, then powering it back on. But that did not work. I then factory reset through the recovery mode. That does not work; I'm getting messages such as "Failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)" and "Can't open /cache/recovery/last_kmsg". So I got to this tutorial. At step 8 none of the 4 commands work. They all return "FAILED (remote: failed to erase partition)". I'm doing this from Ubuntu 14.04. The phone is connected through the stock USB cable to a USB2.0 port. What are my options from here?
     
  16. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    853

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,289
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Do you have a custom recovery? Twrp has a file system fix in it. I had this happen once and after using twrp to rebuild partitions it worked well. Also are you running the fastboot command as root? If not try: sudo fastboot flash (image) if running the script then just sudo the script
     
    codesplice and lunatic59 like this.
  17. Tachikoma1211

    Tachikoma1211 New Member
    15

    Sep 27, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    When I "Fastboot oem unlock" it tells me < waiting for device > but never continues. Does this mean it doesn't see my device?
     
  18. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,178
    26,445
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Most likely you have the wrong or conflicting drivers installed. Instead of "fastboot oem unlock" type "fastboot devices" and if you don't get a response in the form of your phone's serial number, then it's not a recognized device.

    Try the Google drivers. They are always better than Microsoft's.
     
    codesplice and argedion like this.
  19. Tachikoma1211

    Tachikoma1211 New Member
    15

    Sep 27, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Ok I've made it past this. you were right it wasnt recognizing it. I think it was because I was using usb 3 maybe. usb 2 worked no problems. I have a new problem. At step 9 it says, 'writing 'bootloader'... FAILED <remote: flash write failure>
    Any ideas? Thanks again
     
  20. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    853

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,289
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Are you running fastboot as root? Sometimes fastboot wont work unless your a super user. Also did you check the Md5 to make sure your download is not corrupt?
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  21. Tachikoma1211

    Tachikoma1211 New Member
    15

    Sep 27, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    I had to unplug my phone and shut the computer down and now my phone won't go into bootloader. I'm assuming because it was erased. Goodbye my Nexus 5. You served me well and will be missed. *Queue bagpipes*
     
  22. NightEagle

    NightEagle Member
    35

    May 1, 2015
    8
    0
    35
    Male
    Shropshire, United Kingdom
    My Nexus 7 2013 LTE has gone into a bootloop recently and I can't get it out.

    This was orignially my mums, until this happened. She was basically playing Words With Friends and suddenly the tablet rebooted and went into a bootloop. I tried to get it out of the bootloop by wiping cache, system, reflashing the rom. Nothing worked. The tablet was 100% stock, stock rom and stock recovery. I don't know if this method will work, as I've tried simlar and more advanced methods to no avail. If there is any way to get a custom recovery and ROM on there whilst its bricked, I'll be a happy eagle.
     
  23. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,178
    26,445
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Can you get it into fastboot mode? If so, then you can flash the factory images.
     
  24. NightEagle

    NightEagle Member
    35

    May 1, 2015
    8
    0
    35
    Male
    Shropshire, United Kingdom
    I can get into fastboot mode and the stock recovery. I've tried flashing an Android version before Lollipop using both methods and it doesn't work. Am I doing something wrong here?
     
  25. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,178
    26,445
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you could be a little more specific about what isn't working and any errors you might see, it would be helpful.
     

Share This Page

Loading...