1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] How to make a bootable CWM (ClockWorkMod) or TWRP bootable sd card (06-04-2013)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by colchiro, May 1, 2011.

  1. nando99

    nando99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 16, 2012

    May 16, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Ok... so I'm having a weird problem... I think... i was told to write the img to the sdcard and then move the rom i want to flash on it... the thing is, after I write the img to the sdcard I can't move files to the sdcard... it becomes inaccessible... i'm using a 1gb card and I've tried on both internal and external sdcard readers...

    any help would be appreciated... thanks in advance...
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Did you try "safely removing" it, unplugging your usb adapter, then plugging it back in?

    If that doesn't work, your img file is corrupt or you're flashing it wrong.

    I think w32 is easier to use than winimage. :D
     
  3. nando99

    nando99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 16, 2012

    May 16, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    i am using w32... i've used the 3.2.0.1 img on ClockworkMod ROM Manager - Recoveries and I've tried the 1gb_clockwork-3.2.0.1-eyeballer.img

    after i write the image, i safely eject the card, disconnect the sdcard reader and reconnect the reader and insert the sdcard and right away it asks me if i want to format the sdcard...
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Have you tried my images?

    What else on your computer isn't working?

    What version of windows are you running?

    Is this a new sdcard? Do you get a warning when you insert it?

    When you are done flashing (which should take several minutes), you're supposed to see 4 files on the card. How long does it take for you?

    You are extracting the img file from the archive, right?

    It sounds like a bad card. Do you have another one you can try?
     
  5. nando99

    nando99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 16, 2012

    May 16, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    the computer is working fine... running win7... its an older sdcard... i cant even see whats inside of it after i write the img to it... it becomes inaccessible... i just borrowed another micro sdcard from a friend i'm going to try when i get home from work... i'll try ur img files as well...
     
  6. nando99

    nando99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 16, 2012

    May 16, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    it was the damn sdcard... smh... on the new sdcard, i wrote the img with w32 then i went to check if i could explore the sdcard and it let me... so i copied over the rom, gapps and the flashable cwm and safely ejected it... smooth sailing from there... factory reset, rom, gapps and then cwm... booted up perfectly, no force closes so far... great!!

    thanks 4 ur help...

    quick question, is there a way to remove or hide apps like the phone, camera etc..?
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Glad you figured it out, b/c I didn't think it was operator error. :D

    Some launchers let you hide apps. You have to be careful what you freeze (with Titanium Backup Pro) or uninstall, because some phone things are required for it to work properly and give good battery life. Camera I would think could go tho. I don't sweat it.
     
  8. EsotericStuff

    EsotericStuff Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    So, I have successfully gotten one Nook rooted using CWM, and my boss asked me to do his. For his I used the new TWRP 2.1.1, foolishly, and have run into a major issue. After backing up the stock system, I wiped the system, the cache, and the dalvik cache, and when I went to install the new CM zip file, I couldn't seem to locate it, and the screen seemed to lag a little. Now the screen will not respond to pressure, and it is stuck on the TWRP lock screen saying swipe to unlock, but cannot use the screen. The power button won't turn it off either, so I can't even try to reboot. Any ideas?

    Also, after taking out the SD card, it appears that there is no backup data on it at all, just the uboot files, and my CM7 & gapps file. I am feeling like I may have ****ed up badly.
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Holding down the power button will turn it off, but may take 20-30 secs.

    So, copy the CM7 and gapps to the sdcard and boot off of it again.

    Why did you wipe system? That's usually not needed and makes your rom unbootable. Wiping caches just makes the next boot take longer, nothing detrimental to booting.
     
  10. xmikeabx

    xmikeabx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012

    Jul 9, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Using a 16 gig sd card and followed this guide exactly, but when I put it in my nook color with 1.4.2 it just boots normally. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Are you sure you have the Nook Color and not the Nook Tablet? The tablet has a small microphone hole on the top, opposite the microphone, and uses a different procedure.
     
    xmikeabx likes this.
  12. xmikeabx

    xmikeabx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012

    Jul 9, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Now I feel like an idiot! Theres that little mic hole... Thank you for the fast response
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    DaddyZZZ likes this.
  14. androidstreet

    androidstreet Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Has anyone got working w/ NC software version 1.4.3?
    The process does not seem to work.
     
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I count 3 threads with 1.4.3 in the title in the root section.

    What part doesn't work?

    You get errors flashing or it works fine but doesn't boot off the card or what?
     
  16. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    How do you boot from the SDcard? I followed all of the instructions, bought the recommended Sandisk microSD, bought a USB microSD card reader, tried various images and image writing applications. It seems to write the image correctly and everything, but when I put the sdcard in the nook and boot it up, it just boots normally. What am I missing?
     
  17. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    If you can see files on it when it's plugged into the computer, the card should be good.

    See post #111 above for the solution. :D
     
    SamXp likes this.
  18. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Yep, it's a tablet. Had no idea there was a difference. Doesn't look like the nook tablet has much in the way of development. Time to sell it.
     
  19. jrousselo

    jrousselo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I have followed the guides. Which are awesome by the way. But I cannot get the nook to boot to the SD card? I have a HP touch pad running ICS 4.0 and I was hoping I could turn the nook color into a smaller version of that for my sons 3rd birthday. I want to just run ICS I'm not interested at all using stock B&N UI. Can this be done? I have one week until his bday and I am sooooo lost right now please help.
     
  20. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I just read the other day that with cheap tablets now, there's no reason to pick up a reader and mod it into a tablet. I like my Nexus 7 tablet. :D

    Have you checked post #111 above to make sure you have the Nook Color and not the tablet? :D

    FWIW, the NC is a bit too underpowered to run ICS. JB might be do-able, but there's no stable JB builds yet. If you do indeed have a NC, your best bet would be Mirage or CM7 roms.
     
  21. jrousselo

    jrousselo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    It is for my son. So it will e broken by the end of the year. I guess I will check out mirage. Thanks again I will keep trying
     
  22. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    By post #111, I meant to make sure it wasn't a Nook Tablet.

    If you can see files on the sdcard and copy files to it after flashing, it's probably good.

    The presence of a small pin-size hole (microphone) on the top, opposite of the headphone jack, means you're wasting your time b/c it's the wrong device. <-- that's the point I wanted you to check. :D
     
  23. Shortyred

    Shortyred Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Ok I have a question pertaining to upgrading cwm 1.0.10 to 3.201 on a boot loader? I'm running das u-boot and it has menus that come up to boot into emmc or sd or recovery. The recovery is old cwm, do you know how to update and still have the boot-up menu's?
     
  24. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    This guide is for a bootable sdcard, not a bootable rom.

    You need to check xda for an updated u-boot menu.

    Sorry, I won't be much help. My experience is with replacing the stock rom, not booting a rom from the sdcard.
     
  25. kan82

    kan82 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012

    Sep 27, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    hi... i am getting
    asset failed: get prop ("ro.product.device") == acclain || getprop ro.build.product == acclain
    E:Error in /sdcard/update-cm9-acclaim-alpha0.06.1-fullofbugs.zip
    status7
    installation aborted

    pls help

    i am on nook color
    8gb
     

Share This Page

Loading...