1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] How to root the Wildfire S with S-ON

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CafeKampuchia, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93

    Advertisement

    Gryffon and CafeKampuchia like this.
  2. Mazinsky

    Mazinsky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi

    I'm about to Root my WFS, but wanted to make sure that one of the benefits will be that I'll be able to make the text bigger, especially the inline text within Yahoo Mail for Android, as that's one of the main reasons I'll be doing the Root?

    Thanks in advance.

    M
     
  3. knifpro213

    knifpro213 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    me do not to be recovery, If you to the recovery, back to the screen.Installed ClockworkMod recovery
     
  4. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    I'm pretty sure there must be an app out there that needs root permission which will allow you to have bigger text. Try searching in the play store first
     
  5. Gryffon

    Gryffon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    65
    19
    38
    Male
    TN, USA
    Here's one for starters...
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.a0soft.gphone.bfont&hl=en

    There are more on Play Store.... However, are you sure you can't simply change font size in the Yahoo App?
     
  6. prodippp

    prodippp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    i have a problem in bootloader unlock of my htc wildfire s
    i follow all the procedure that described in htcdev.com and submit my identifier token but i can not receive my reply mail from them. they said there was a problem which is-

    There was a problem with your submission. The error created is SoapFault exception: [HTTP] Forbidden in /var/www/htc2devadmin/expressionengine/libraries/Functions.php(659) : eval()'d code:50 Stack trace: #0 [internal function]: SoapClient->__doRequest('__call('CreateContactUs...', Array) #2 /var/www/htc2devadmin/expressionengine/libraries/Functions.php(659) : eval()'d code(50): SoapClient->CreateContactUsTicket(Array) #3 /var/www/htc2devadmin/expressionengine/libraries/Functions.php(659): eval() #4 /var/www/htc2devadmin/expressionengine/libraries/Template.php(1579): EE_Functions->evaluate('???parse_template_php('???parse('???fetch_and_parse('', '', false) #8 /var/www/htc2devadmin/expressionengine/libraries/Core.php(632): EE_Template->run_template_engine('', '') #9 /var/www/htc2devadmin/expressionengine/controllers/ee.php(68): EE_Core->generate_page() #10 [internal function]: EE->index() #11 /var/www/htc2devadmin/codeigniter/system/core/CodeIgniter.php(311): call_user_func_array(Array, Array) #12 /var/www/index.php(188): require_once('/var/www/htc2de...') #13 {main}.

    Please fix this and try again.
    please tell me in which step i was wrong.
    my device model is PG7610000 and rom is 2.13.401.3
    i download RUU carrier HTC EU.
    help me please
     
  7. Gryffon

    Gryffon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    65
    19
    38
    Male
    TN, USA
    How many attempts at the unlock did you make via HTCdev? If something went wrong on the initial attempt then I think you may get this error on following attempts. I can only suggest contacting HTC... sorry it's not much help... maybe someone else with more knowledge may respond soon..
     
  8. borodescud

    borodescud Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013

    Jan 26, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    Hello !

    Great job on the guide , thank you !
    I can't pass the 4C step , and i was thinking you might gave me a hand !
    I gave you he details :

    phone Unlocked
    Marvel PVT SHIP S-OFF RL
    HBOOT - 1.09.0099
    MICROP - 0451
    RADIO - 7.57.39.10 M

    Android 2.3.5
    HTC sense v 2.1
    Sof. 2.26.161.1
    Kernel version 2.6.35.10- g69f19b

    I did all the things untill the step 4C , the folder Flash root.zip it is on the SD Card , but after i click on the Recovery the phone vibrate , the white screen with HTC logo appears and it is staying like that . I live it for 15 min and nothing changed ! So basically i can't get the recovery menu screen !
    I did 2 the Forcing Apps to install to the SD Card without root , and all went as was explain there , but when i restart the phone , no change , the phone wan't rooted !
    I used the Htcsupertol as well , and show me that was rooted with that flashy screen , but as well nothing was changed after restarting the phone !
    Any idea about how i can sort these , somehow !?

    Thank you !
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  9. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    Borodescud, welcome to Android Forums :hello:

    Try re-flashing the recovery. If that doesn't work, change the recover: if you had CWM before then try TWRP and vice versa.

    Also, sometimes with the SuperTool all you have to do is reboot a second time. Verify that the SuperUser app is installed.

    Hope that helps!
     
  10. Nabbasi

    Nabbasi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013

    Jan 21, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Pakistan
    First of all accept my apologies for being dumb as I'm new to andriod, I have been playing in blackberry before.

    I recently have bought a HTC Wild fire s and found the battery life very bad. Started googling if there is anyway to fix it so I started of battery issue and now stucked here in booting my device :D..

    Ok I have 2 questions.

    1. Does really rooting your device can extend the battery life? (Just rooting and keeping the original ROM)

    2. My device details are below. Tell me if I still can root it? Do I have to change Hboot version to 1.08.0099 to get it rooted?

    Device: HTC Wildfire S s-on A510e.
    HBOOT: 1.09.0099 -S-ON (Bootloader Unlocked though)
    Adnriod Version: 2.3.5
    Sense Version: 2.1
    Software Number: 2.26.707.2
    Kernel Version: 2.6.35.10
     
  11. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    Welcome to Android and Android Forums :hello:

    1. IMHO rooting has little to do with battery life. I've played with multiple custom ROMs and none of them seemed to have a significant impact on battery life for me. There are apps in the play store that claim to extend battery life and some require root. I gained little from them and think they are basically snake oil. Others will disagree. You'll have to try for yourself and see.

    2. You need to start at step 4 since your bootloader is already unlocked.
     
  12. Gryffon

    Gryffon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    65
    19
    38
    Male
    TN, USA
    Bottom line... Yes, and No. Rooting will only give you more control over your device and applications.services that are chewing up your battery life. As the last post, I have tried numerous so called "Battery Savers" and "Battery Optimizers" but really they do nothing magical, infact, most don't do anything that you can't learn to do manually (Which is always best.)

    Sometimes, if it just the battery or memory issue that is the bothersome demon in the works, then rooting, downloading a few simple apps such as link2sd, File Manager and Titanium Backup will help you do most of the necessary functions that will speed up the device, retain battery power and optimize memory/ram. If need be, as with myself, after playing around with a bunch of custom Roms, you could also consider a repacked Stock Rom for your device that will probably have all that done for you.

    Are you Marvel or Marvelc ? If you are in the US the ROM I'm using right now would solve all those isues in one go... if on GSM there are also Marvel versions....

    Also, I responded to your other post in my tuturial thread, check it out here if you still need help with it...


    Good luck!
     
  13. Nabbasi

    Nabbasi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013

    Jan 21, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Pakistan
    I thank you both of you fellas.. your response appreciated .. Gryffon I believe I'll continue on other topic to make things easy for me and you fellas.. thanks again.
     
  14. timchapman16

    timchapman16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013

    Jan 4, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I have attempted your instructions but get stuck at 4A as get message that fastboot is not recognized as an internal or external command (see below). Please help, thanks
    C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Android>fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5
    .0.2.8-marvel.img
    'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Android>
     
  15. JBell1992

    JBell1992 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Hey All, hope somebody can help me.

    I'm at the stage where my phone is ***UNLOCKED***.

    I'm on part 4A. Trying to install ClockworkMod Recovery.
    After typing in (fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5.0.2.8-marvel.img) into the command prompt it say's something along the lines of: 'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    Can anyone help me? Thanks a million.
     
  16. braindrain42

    braindrain42 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    2
    2
    6
    Male
    wales, uk
    this worked perfect for my phone!! i had to download a separate driver installer for the htc sync to work but that didnt take more than 5 mins, im not a total noob but ive never tryed anything like this b4, but your guide was very easy to follow and i got it done on my first try! and found great pleasure in deleting all the bulls*it apps from my wildfire so thank you very much!!
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  17. Gryffon

    Gryffon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    65
    19
    38
    Male
    TN, USA
    Did you get this solved mate? I think I saw you in my thread, and I've updated my method, if you are stuck and get no help give me a shout...
    the other post you were on is here...
    http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s...led-procedure-january-2013-a.html#post5493532
     
  18. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    Welcome to Android Forums, BrainDrain42 :hello: I'm glad your first experience here was a positive one ;) Make sure you have a good backup of your ROM before making to many changes.
     
    braindrain42 likes this.
  19. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    :thinking:

    According to your guide, you don't want to help with SDK issues?

    What's wrong with providing an answer in the thread the question was asked if you can?
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  20. sergio1251

    sergio1251 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013

    Feb 1, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    At the step where i put root.zip in SD then have to go to HBoot and click recovery it just stays on HTC screen like phone is starting up:(
     
  21. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    If you installed Clockworkmod recovery then switch to TWRP. There are instructions in the guide just above step 4B. That should dive it and get you going.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  22. braindrain42

    braindrain42 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    2
    2
    6
    Male
    wales, uk
    i had the same problem so i put the clockwork image in the same file as all the other programs (the one referred to as c:android in the guide) tried the command again and it worked
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  23. ahmed288

    ahmed288 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    ENGINEERING STUDENT
    after flashing recovery image when i going into recovery mode the phone sometime black screen show and msome time phone automatically resets now what to do next

    My phone HTC WILDFIRE S asian
     
  24. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    Welcome to Android Forums :hello: Try installing TWRP Recovery instead. ;) You'll see how just above step 4B.
     
  25. ahmed288

    ahmed288 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    ENGINEERING STUDENT
    first of all thanks CafeKampuchia.
    i also use this recovery but both recovery giving same problem
     

Share This Page

Loading...