1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] How to root the Wildfire S with S-ON

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CafeKampuchia, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. toeyb87

    toeyb87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013

    Jul 3, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    hi
    am new to rooting have got as far as installing the root vip but every time I run the install I keep getting failed, i am using TWRP Recovery as I could not download cwm from there site for some reason

    any help would be great
     

    Advertisement

  2. toeyb87

    toeyb87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013

    Jul 3, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    am having same problem so please help us am new to this and am so close I can taste it
     
  3. theicy

    theicy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hello
    i got problem with the recovery on CWM give me the black screen on TWRP stuck on htc logo
    this happen just when i try to boot into recovery
    any thing to do????
     
  4. BlueKadet

    BlueKadet Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013

    Jul 23, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hello, I am on the last step to root, right where I have to install root.zip with TWRP, but every time I slide to install it fails...I've looked everywhere for a different .zip file but nothing seems to come up.

    Please I really want to root my phone and I'm so close but it just wont budge.
     
  5. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    Unfortunately that's a problem some of the newer versions of HTC have. If you are stuck on HTC logo when you try to go into recovery, then you are one of the unlucky ones. And as far as I know they haven't found any fix as of yet...
     
  6. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    Have you tried flashing the other recovery? CMW recovery?
     
  7. Mazinsky

    Mazinsky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi

    I've previously Rooted my Wildfire S using your guide (Worked perfectly, thanks!) but for some unknown reason (perhaps an update or something) the phone is no longer Rooted.

    To Root it again, do I need to start again from scratch? Or will there be files etc left on the phone that will complicate things?

    Cheers
     
  8. tombedelalune

    tombedelalune Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013

    Dec 24, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi everybody,

    I just tried the above, but all I see is the Cyanogen logo.

    I did everything according to the guide, and everything seemed fine.
    I installed the file under the big red download sign in the first post of the link for the Cyanogen 7 given in the guide.
    Once it said that the installation is over, I rebooted, but now all I see is the logo. which is moving (like a screensaver would), but it doesn't boot.
    I can't power off with the button, I had to take the battery out, and try again. with the same result.

    Could anybody help me? was it not the right file? was it just an update I installed? in that case which file is the real one?

    I am a complete novice :) please be kind :)

    thank you
     
  9. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    It can take up to ten minutes for the first boot. If you're certain you gave it enough time, try the process again but when you are wiping the partitions in the recovery wipe everything twice. That is one of the most common causes of a bootloop.
     
  10. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    hi there, can someone please help me? i REALLY want to try this upgrade as my wfs performance (in most aspects of the word) is pathetic but cant get past step 3 of the guide? i need some help understanding step 3 and what i am doing wrong!? i am a noob at this but am desperate to get this done

    my phone details are;

    wildfire s a510e
    PG76100 {under bat'
    android version- 2.3.5
    sense version- 2.1
    software Number- 2.26.206.1


    and in HBOOT;

    ***LOCKED***
    Marvel PVT Ship s-on rl
    HBoot- 1.09.0099
    microp- 0451
    radio- 7.57.39.10m

    i have followed the instuctions but at step 3 it tells me that if i have ***LOCKED*** in hboot then i just have to follow steps 3a) and 3c)
    it then tells me to go to htcdev.com and follow the instructions for "unblocking the bootloader"
    i start the process following the instructions from step 3a) as i do so. i downloaded:
    *google android SDK zip (unzipped to desktop)
    *java runtime environment (installed)
    *htc sync (insalled and then closed program)

    (HERE LIES THE PROBLEM, lol...)
    in step 3c) it says:
    Quote:
    3C. Unlock the bootloader
    Now you
     
  11. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Your adb installation isn't set up right. The person you need to help you is Andyopie150, he's the man with this stuff and also very patient and kind. He'll get you set up right. He's a guide here (or was,) just send him a pm. If it makes you feel more comfortable you can say I referred you to him, we're friends. :D
     
    l3gacy likes this.
  12. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    thank you Soooo much for your reply!! will do that right away!! again thank you!!
     
  13. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    i figured out where i was going wrong!! THANKS TO brotherswing! :adore::adore:
    basically i was stuck at step 5 on htcdev.com where it tells you to go into cmd (every time i entered the commands, nothing happened)

    this it what i did:

    1. make a folder directly in c: and call it Android

    2.when SDK zip downloads, extract it to the 'Android' folder you created

    **the interesting part** the SDK has been updated since this guide, and they have changed the location of some important files!?

    3. go to the 'platform tools' folder (should now be located at "c:\Android\sdk\platform tools"),
    copy these three files...

    -adb
    -AdbWinApi.dll
    -fastboot

    and paste them directly in the 'c:\Android' folder (IMPORTANT!)

    4.go back to step 5 at htcdev

    BAM! it now recognized when imputing the commands and i can now continue on my quest for a better behaving phone!! im sure there's a much quicker way of getting round this :hmmmm: but im a noob at this so hey...
    no doubt ill be back shortly with more problems! :p
    **thanks everyone!!**
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  14. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I figured it was something like that. If you need any further help, we're here. :)
     
  15. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    as it goes :tongue:...

    noob time. ive rooted my phone now and wanted to install jelly bean or somthing to make my phone faster etc but upon looking, there seems to be loads to choose from... can you suggest a good starting point?

    also, once i have jelly bean or ics will it enable me to access apps/games from the google play store that are not usually supported by my device?

    thanks again
     
  16. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Anytime. Now first of, remember there are several variations of the Wildfire S and you need to choose a Rom compatible with yours. What is your carrier?
    To answer your second question, yes. Having a newer build of Android will allow you to install some apps that your phone currently doesn't support, but not everything. If the compatibility issues are due to the API then yes. If they are due to hardware requirements then no. Some trial and error may be necessary to see what you will be able to use.
     
    l3gacy likes this.
  17. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    sweet,:D i'm on orange/EE but i'm assuming the phone has been unlocked at some point because when i boot up there is an o2 splash screen!? <would be nice to be able to remove that] :p
    1 last thing, since rooting my call signal fluctuates between 0, 1 and 2 bars? beforehand it was mostly full(4) in my house at least ...any suggestions there?

    my phone details are;

    wildfire s a510e
    PG76100 {under bat'
    android version- 2.3.5
    sense version- 2.1
    software Number- 2.26.206.1

    kernal version
    2.6.35.10-g696f19b
    htc-kernel@and18-2 #1
    2012

    and in HBOOT;

    ***UNLOCKED***
    Marvel PVT Ship s-on rl
    HBoot- 1.09.0099
    microp- 0451
    radio- 7.57.39.10m
    feb 8 2012

    would the date at the bottom of hboot help determine anything??:thinking:
     
  18. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Good news then. The a510e can use the vast majority of ROMs out there ( more so than the a510c my wife has.) As far as signal strength goes, a lot of things can affect that. A little trial and error (and some patience) with different ROMs ought to resolve that. Don't worry about the date stamp on your bootloader, the fact that it's unlocked is the important thing.
     
    l3gacy likes this.
  19. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    excellent! so any suggestions to a decent jb or ics ROM to start with?
    sorry to be a pain its just there's so many and being new to this, im not sure which are and which are not trustworthy!? thanks
     
  20. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    While only YOU can determine what features are useful for you I couldn't suggest a specific Rom. Each brings its own advantages and disadvantages. I can, however, recommend a particular dev. Chains77 does excellent work and is well respected in the community.
     
    l3gacy likes this.
  21. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    thanks muchly, i thought you might say something along those lines, ive seen various people saying the same... i guess i was just trying to do it the lazy way :smokingsomb: again, thanks for your help

    i tried to search for chains77 both in here and google but cant find anything?? could you possibly provide a link to his Roms or threads? again, if i sound like a total noob i apologize!
     
  22. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That's because I put his name down wrong. Oops! It's crossfire77. Check over at XDA, his work is posted there. Be careful there, though. That community isn't very patient with inexperienced users.
     
  23. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    lol, no danger, it gave me an opportunity to do a bit of reading on the situation whilst searching for threads/posts with his (wrong) name in. :stupido2:
    i noticed! :secruity:

    thanks loads, you're a great help!!
     
  24. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    No problem, I enjoy helping! Knowledge that isn't shared is useless.
     
    l3gacy likes this.
  25. l3gacy

    l3gacy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Male
    UK
    YESS! that is the way forward friend!! :beer:
    sharing is caring!
     

Share This Page

Loading...